Vegan MOFO Day 7: Carrot Cake Omega Blast Balls

It’s Friday.  I’m tired. I’m hungry. And I want something sweet, creamy, cold, and obviously delicious.

With all the tempting carrot cake recipes I’ve been seeing all over the web, I really wanted to figure a way to make an easy, diet friendly carrot cake inspired dessert. So I did.

Say hello to Carrot Cake Omega Blast Balls!

Carrot Cake Omega Blast Ball

Carrot Cake Omega Blast Balls

1/2 c flax meal

1/2 c almond meal

1/4 c oat flour

1 TBSP chia seeds

1/4 c applesauce

2 TBSP maple syrup

1/4 c carrots

1/3 c raisins

1 TBSP cinnamon

1/4 c shredded coconut (unsweetened)

Add flax meal (I like golden flax), almond meal, oat flour, chia seeds and  cinnamon to a large bowl. Mix with a fork or whisk to incorporate flavors. Stir in carrots and raisins. Add applesauce to moisten. Dough will be sticky but should be formable.

Scoop a small amount (I used a TBSP) of dough and roll into a ball. Roll ball in coconut shreds. Repeat. Freeze balls to harden. Thaw a few minutes before eating.

My batch made 10 large balls.

The next time I make these, I’m going to try using less applesauce (probably half or 1/8 c), which I think will make the oat flour unnecessary. I like the almond meal because it adds a nice, nutty flavor to the balls without actually adding nuts. Of course, feel free to add nuts if you’d like (walnuts are traditional).

I”m sharing this recipe at:

Diet Dessert & Dogs’ Wellness Weekends

Cybele Pascal’s Allergy Free Fridays (not all recipes are vegan!)

Simply Sugar & Gluten Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays (not all recipes are vegan!)

3 responses

Leave a Reply

