Vegan MOFO Day 10: Lemony Lentil Soup

Vegan MoFo is crazy, yo! I am in love with so many new blogs. I can’t keep up with them all! I need to take the next month off just to read and cook. Ha! But it’s all good. It’s great ;-)

To commemorate MoFo Day 10, I’m sharing one of my favorite soup recipes – Lemony Lentil Soup. It reminds me of my favorite soup at my favorite Lebanese restaurant. Now, if I could just figure out the spice mixed they use on the Fatoosh, I’d be all set!

Lemony Lentil Soup

4 c veggie broth

2-4 c water

2 c red lentils (you really need to use red lentils for the right taste and texture)

1 sm onion, diced

3 lg carrots, diced

2 stalked celery, diced

3 lemons, zested and juiced

1-2 TBSP cummin, coriander and garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

Add veggie broth and water to a big soup pot. Add onions, carrots, and celery to broth mix. Bring to a boil. Add lentils and dry seasonings. Reduce heat to a simmer. Cover pot and cook for about 20 minutes, stirring often. Add lemon zest and juice. Cook for another 10+ minutes with lid off pot, allowing soup to thicken. Stir often.

Lentils will break down into a lovely, mushy texture on their own. If you want your soup to have a smoother texture, blend or puree one-quarter to one-half of the soup and return to the pot.

Short on time? Saute the veggies in a little bit veggie broth before adding to the soup. Lentils will break down quickly and soup will be ready to eat.

Lemony Lentil Soup

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Vegan MoFo Wrap-Up | vegangela

Leave a Reply

