Notcho Average Nachos!

I made something tonight I haven’t made in a really long time – nachos!

I made chips by baking some organic corn tortilla chips I had in the freezer. (Cut tortillas into triangles and bake on 350 for about 10 minutes.) I made pico (diced tomato, onion and cilantro with a squeeze of lemon juice), chunky guac (two smashed avocados, diced onion, tomato, granulated garlic, salt, lemon juice, and a few sprinkles of chipotle lime Mrs. Dash), and cashew sour cream.

Cashew Sour Cream

1/2 c soaked cashews (soaked at least 2 hours)

juice of half a lemon

1 tsp apple cidar vinegar

5-7 TBSP water

Blend cashews, lemon juice, ACV, and water in high-powered blender or food processor (I used my Magic Bullet.) until smooth, adding water 1 TBSP at a time until desired consistency is reached.

I ended up adding quite a bit of water and the juice of basically a whole lemon, plus a dash of salt. I was really impressed with the results. I haven’t been overly pleased with the cashew based items I’ve made because I find the cashew flavor odd (even though I love cashews – well, roasted and salted cashews anyway).

I think this original recipe is Ani Phyo’s, but I found it the taste space.

Aside from some shredded lettuce, green and black olives, tomatoes, onions, and fat-free refried beans (Yes; they’re from a can, but they’re so easy and good!), my final nachos ingredient was Quick Queso Sauce (p. 263) from The Happy Herbivore cookbook. This is the first recipe I’ve made from this cookbook, and it was a huge hit! I was literally excited to have a tasty, fat-free, soy free, and gluten-free (I made the sauce with home-made gluten-free oat flour) cheeze to add to my nachos. It made them so much more authentic!  

Healthy Nachos. Can you belive it?!

Overall, I was really, really pleased with the results of my nacho plate. It definitely made enough for two, and even though I thought I could eat my way through the entire plate by myself, I wasn’t able to. I love when that happens! I put the rest in the fridge to turn into a taco salad tomorrow for quick lunch.

 
If you would have asked me even a year ago if I could make delicious, heart healthy nachos with all of my favorite toppings and be stuffed from half a plate, I would have had serious doubts. Doubt no more, people. It can be done!
One response

  1. Pingback: My Interview with Lindsay Nixon, the Happy Herbivore | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

