Recipe Review: 1 Minute Chocolate Cake

Apparently I’m craving chocolate cakey goodness this week.

I tried another one of Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipes tonight: One-Minute Chocolate Cake. Wowza. I’ve seen microwave cakes all over the web for years, but I’d never tried one because I just couldn’t picture the thing actually rising and cooking in such a short time. Guess what. It did. Both!

Click here for Katie’s original recipe.

I went ahead and made two servings of one-minute chocolate cake. The amount of ingredients seemed really small, but one cake would have been plenty! I couldn’t even finish the second one, and I love me some cake.

The first cake I made fat-free, but I added a tablespoon of chocolate chips to the top before I cooked it. I also used whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, unsweetened chocolate almond milk, and two tablespoons of sugar. Roughly. I kind of winged the ingredients. The only measuring utensil I used was a regular tablespoon, so for those of you who like to bake because of the measuring, this recipe is fail proof. As long as you’re in the ballpark, you’re golden.

Fat Free One Minute Chocolate Cake

I cooked the fat-free cake for 50 seconds on hight in the microwave, and it was the perfect doneness.

The second cake I made with coconut oil like the recipe calls for. I went ahead and used the whole wheat flour again and two tablespoons of sugar. For the non-dairy milk, I used French vanilla creamer. This batter was a little dry, so I ended up adding 1-2 more tablespoons of creamer. I cooked this cake for 50 seconds on hight also, but it wasn’t quite done, so I’d suggest 60 seconds for that one.

One Minute Chocolate Cake with Coconut Oil & Coconut Meal

When it came out of the microwave, I added some coconut meal because my coconut butter was frozen. (Is it supposed to be stored in the fridge?!) The coconut added a nice little punch of flavor.

These cakes were so rich, I had a nice, cold glass of chocolate almond milk mixed with French vanilla creamer to wash down the chocolately goodness.

French Vanilla Chocolate Almond Milk

These cakes are great go-tos when you’re short on time. And they’re a pretty decent size for a treat. I haven’t built any of the NI yet, but when I do, I’ll share. The nutrition information. Not my cakes.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Holiday Nog Cupcakes | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

