My First Kale Salad

I did it. I finally made a raw kale salad. And it rocked!

Kale Salad

I don’t know why I’ve been so afraid of raw kale. I don’t mind it in smoothies, and I love kale chips. Wilting it into dishes is good too, so what was my hang-up with the raw thing?? Eh, whatever it was, I’m over it. I’m so over it I ordered an Eat More Kale t-shirt. Seriously. (They’re $25 with free shipping, and it all goes to the one guy who runs the site. Who, incidentally, really needs the cash to fight Chick-fil-A in court because they’re suing him for copyright/trademark infringement. Seriously.)

Before I made my salad, I did some research on my favorite blogs for suggestions. I settled on Angela’s suggestions from Oh She Glows. I combined her message plus wilt and wait method with an avocado dressing recipe from Bredan Brazier that Mama Pea shared. I’ve made this dressing a couple of times, and it’s always turned out great, so I knew I could count on it to wilt my greens. And it did.

Wilting Kale

While my kale was wilting, I chopped my salad veggies, which included carrot, celery, green pepper, radish, green onion, cucumber, tomato, and parsley.

Veggies waiting for their kale and avocado dressing.

A quick toss, and I had dinner. So good!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: An Almost Raw Dessert | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

  2. Pingback: My First Spring Rolls | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

  3. Pingback: My First Spring Rolls | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

