Recipe Review: Crispy Tofu

While I’m currently not eating much tofu, I did recently try a recipe for crispy tofu to use up the last tube I found crammed way in the back of the fridge.

I found this recipe a couple of months ago while reading the Daily Garnish. Emily has written a few times about how much she and her family love tofu, so I thought I’d give her method for cooking crispy tofu a try.

I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I don’t think I followed the same cutting style, but I was happy with my tiny blocks. And, I used sesame oil to “fry” the tofu cubes instead of canola or vegetable oil.

I was really happy with the results and ended up eating most of the block. (That wasn’t the best idea since the reason I’ve stopped eating most soy is because of the unfortunate gastrointestinal side-effects.) If you’re into tofu, give this method a try. I even dipped mine in a little ketchup :-)

Leave a Reply

