Welcome!

Welcome, and thank you for joining me on my continuing adventure through the world of veganism!

I’ve been debating about what to write for my very first post to my very first blog (yes, I’m a blogging virgin) for a long, long time. Should I wait for an inspired recipe? Should I review something? But what? A book? A movie? Someone else’s recipe? Or should I break the ice by writing something about my vegan adventure so far? I decided on the latter, so here goes!

Over fifty-five pounds and 15 months ago I decided I needed to make a change in my life. I was tired of waking up sick every day – plagued by sever stomach pains with no medical explanation. I was working six days a week, wasn’t working out, and was living on all the vegetarian junk food I could get my hands on. I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I was a vegetarian who barely ate vegetables.

After reading a few blogs (wow, there are so many great ones out there!), I decided to take the leap to veganism. I was worried about my then-boyfriend’s (now husband!) reaction to my diet change. How would he react to even more dietary restrictions? Well, he was pretty quiet at first, but he soon got on board when I started feeling better and the pounds started melting away.

To make a long story short, I rediscovered my love of exercise, soon added running to my weekly routine (Me…a runner?! Yup!), and got serious about yoga and weight training. It’s been over a year, and I’m happy to say that my stomach issues are few and far between (gallstones are temperamental little boogers), my weight is normal for my height, and I regularly participate in 5k’s (I still can’t quite run the entire 3.2 miles, but I’m getting closer!).

So, please join me as I share my continued adventures through the wonderful word of all things vegan, try new recipes (and old favorites), and attempt to keep myself motivated to get out of bed and slip (struggle??) into some spandex (no giggling allowed!).

Grab your running shoes and your favorite smoothie, and let’s get this blog rolling!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2011 | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

