Motorcycles and Kale Chips

I knew before I married Mr. M that his favorite hobby was riding motorcycles. He had (and still has) two – a customer chopper and a Harley. But somehow, I managed to avoid riding on either – the chopper because it’s a single-seater, and the Harley because, well, I just did. But, when he traded in the HD on a Goldwing, I knew my excuses were limited.

Today was one of those days.

In an attempt to get me on the bike, Mr. M offered to drive aimlessly around the countryside, looking for the location of my next 5k. I have to admit, it was a nice ride, and the park looks nice. I’m excited for a new challenge!

As a reward to myself for getting on the bike (and putting on jeans, socks, and riding boots in 90F heat) and strapping on my crazy, albeit fairly comfortable, helmet, I made kale chips when we got home.  As usual, they were delicious!

Cheezy Kale Chips

1 bunch kale (I prefer the flat kind over the curly), washed and stemmed

1/3 c nutritional yeast (a.k.a. nooch)

1 TBSP Olive Oil (a.k.a. EVOO) – Optinal

Salt to taste

Stir together the nooch and EVOO. “Dip” the kale leaves into the mixture, coating both sides with cheezy goodness.

Bake at the lowest temperature your oven will allow (mine is 170F) until the chips are dry and crispy.

I set a timer for 60 minutes, check chips, then reset timer in 15 minute intervals, checking for crispness. Mine take anywhere from 90 – 120 minutes.

Kale Chips in the Oven

I really like this recipe because it doesn’t require a dehydrater. Most of the recipes I’ve seen on the web require hours of “cooking” in a dehydrater. True, using the oven set at this high of a temp means your chips won’t be “raw,” but they’re still delicious! Enjoy!

Cooked kale chips

5 responses

  1. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any advice to
    help fix this issue?

Leave a Reply

