I’m a Dip…Convert

I’m not much of a saucy person. I don’t like a lot of sauce with my pasta; I don’t like a lot of sauce on my pizza; I don’t like a lot of dressing on my salad;  and I’ve never been a fan of dips – except for guacamole, but how can you not succumb to its creamy, fatty, salty, tangy goodness?!

I don’t know where my dislike of sauciness came from. I always had the ability to control my sauce-to-food ratio as a child. My mom didn’t think ketchup was the key to good food. (We rarely had ketchup in the house, but there was always plenty of mustard. Good ol’ yellow mustard. Yum.) And, I wasn’t forced to consume salad with a bucket of ranch. (I never ate ranch dressing until I was an adult. Italian all the way, baby!)  Regardless of its origin, I came to veganism without a favorite dip or dressing, so I  had no desire to find suitable substitutes for my favs because I had no favs!  That all changed when I started making the dips and dressings from Appetite for Reduction (Moskowitz, 2011).

I’ve made just about every dip and/or dressing in this book, and I’ve really liked them all. I’ve fallen in love with the Caesar Chavez Dressing, which I use as a dip  (Alton Brown would be so mad!), and I’m a huge fan of the Sanctuary Dressing (which I’ve altered to be WAY more of a dip than a dressing). After months of dipping,  I’ve developed a couple of my own. Enjoy!

Pesto Dip

1 pg silken tofu (boil it to get rid of the beany taste)

1/4 – 1/3 c nutritional yeast

1 oz almonds

1 – 2 clove/s garlic

1 – 2 c fresh basil

salt and pepper to taste

Boil and drain the tofu. Allow to cool. Once cool, add to food processor (or high-speed blender). Add nutritional yeast, almonds, garlic, basil, salt, and pepper. Blend until desired consistency is achieved. Add non-dairy milk or vegetable broth if too thick.

Use as a dip for veggies, or thin with hot pasta water for a more traditional use.

Creamy Spinach Dip

Use the same recipe as the Pesto dip, but substitute spinach for basil and cashews for almonds.

Creamy Spinach Dip

Note: I thought the Creamy Spinach Dip could use a little tang, so I added some lemon juice, but I think a little apple cider vinegar would be a nice add or even some miso. That’s a definite must try next time!

Leave a Reply

