That’s Bananas, Yo

I don’t love bananas. I know. You’re wondering how any self-proclaimed vegan can’t be in love with the banana. It’s not that I hate them; I just don’t love them. I like them. I’m in like with bananas. We’re friends with benefits. We live our separate lives, but we occasionally hook up. And when we do, it’s amazing.

Lately, we’ve been hooking up a lot. In the last two weeks, I’ve made four recipes that either highlight or feature the banana. I finally broke down and made banana “ice-cream,” and I tried two awesome desserts from two of my favorite blogs.

My first banana fling was last week when I had a frigid encounter with two frozen bananas. And some vanilla. The cinnamon just watched at first, but then it got involved, and it really became a party.

Vanilla Banana "Ice Cream"

Vanilla Banana “Ice Cream”

2 frozen bananas (remove the peel and break banana into pieces before freezing)

1/8 c French vanilla soy creamer (or non-dairy creamer or milk of your choice)

1 tsp vanilla

Cinnamon to taste

 Throw everything into a super, powerful blender (I think a food processor might work) and whiz, whirl, and whip away until a smooth, creamy mixture forms. (It will resemble soft-serve ice cream.)

 *Tip: Let the banana pieces thaw a few minutes before using. They’ll blend up quicker.

 Blender note: I have a Ninja 900 and a Magic Bullet blender. Because of the amount of time needed to make the “ice cream” soft-serve-like, I use the Ninja. It took me three stopping-to-scrape-the-sides interventions to get the mixture to move around and start blending. Don’t give up on it! It will eventually turn creamy and delicious.

The taste of the banana is obviously pronounced in this “ice cream” (a.k.a. banana soft-serve), but I didn’t mind it at all. The vanilla and cinnamon are a nice compliment to the creamy, frozen banana. Not bad. Not bad at all.

 A few days later I was craving ice cream again, which is weird because ice cream has never been one of my favorite treats. Back-in-the-day, when I ate dairy (so just over a year ago – ha ha) and when Mr. M could convince me a trip to our local ice cream stand was a good idea, I’d order ice cream blended with candy. Lots of candy. Lots and lots of candy. Basically, I ordered candy with a little ice cream. Mmmmm….candy (insert Homer Simpson gurgle here).

Sorry. Where was I? Oh ya, my second banana party. This time I decided to try chocolate flavored banana “ice cream.”

Chocolate Banana "Ice Cream"

 Oh ya. Right there. That’s the stuff. Chocolate is definitely my favorite.

 Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

2 frozen bananas

1/8 c French vanilla soy creamer

2 TBSP (or more) cocoa powder

Throw everything into a super, powerful blender (I think a food processor might work) and whiz, whirl, and whip away until a smooth, creamy mixture forms. (It will resemble soft-serve ice cream.)

*Tip: Let the banana pieces thaw a few minutes before using. They’ll blend up quicker.

Easy peasy chocolate banana ice creamsy. (Ha ha ha! I crack myself up.)

I didn’t add any vanilla to this batch, but I bet it would be good. I just didn’t think about. But it was still delicious and a definite remake!

After my banana big chill, I moved on to some more substantial desserts. Earlier this week I made Chocolate Zucchini Muffins from the Happy Herbivore and Flax Glowballs from Oh She Glows. HH and OSG are two of my favorite blogs. I’ve been following HH for years; and, although I just found OSG a few months ago, it’s quickly become my favorite blog to read.

Chocolate Zucchini Muffin

 Those are ice crystals on the Chocolate Zucchini Muffin, not sugar crystals. So obviously, they freeze very well (30 seconds in the microwave bring them back to fresh-from-the-oven status). I thought the muffins were sweet enough with just a 1/2 c sugar. Actually, because of the sweetness of the ripe banana, I’m going to try to omit the sugar next time. (My taste buds have become accustomed to not eating sweets, so you may want to try the full sugar version first!)  I also added a little more zucchini (because I didn’t want to freeze it). These muffins are crazy moist. They could easily be frosted or glazed and called cupcakes.

Flax Glowball sans bite

The Flax Glowballs are my first dessert ball. That’s right, I am no longer a  dessert ball virgin 😉

I made a few substitutes with this recipe because I was missing or low on a few ingredients (but they looked so good I had to try them that night!). Instead of 1 c mashed banana, I only had about 1/4 c (I used my other banana to make the muffins). Instead, I soaked 3 big dates for about a half hour then blended them with the banana. Plenty of sweetness! But, not quite enough moisture because I was still missing about half the liquid from the banana. To fix that, I added 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce and it got the balls rolling. (Is it just me, or is this post filled with hilarity?!)

I’m keeping my balls in the freezer, along with my left over muffins. I individually page each treat so I’m not tempted by their friends when I grab one from the bag.

I have some ideas for my own ball recipes that I’ll be sharing in the near future!

I hope you’ve been saving your over-ripe bananas in the freezer because the recipes I’ve tired lately are definitely worth breaking into your stash. Let me know how you like them!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Freezer Fudge | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

