Easy Saturday Supper

After my second day of marathon baking and dessert making, I was desperate for something savory – but it had to be quick!

I knew I had a zucchini in the fridge (thanks to a random “take me” sign on a pile of veggies at work), and I’ve really been wanting to try zucchini “pasta,” so I tried it. Guess what…it worked great! I sliced the zucchini with a peeler (I really want a spiralizer now!) and roasted it in the over w/ a little salt for a few minutes. Just enough to warm it up, really (and take out some of the liquid).

While the zucchini noodles were cooking, I made a quick, “creamy” tomato sauce.  Seriously delicious!

“Creamy” Tomato Sauce with Zucchini “Noodles”

1/2 lg onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 c diced tomatoes (1 can)

1/2 c tomato sauce (1 sm can)

1.5 c white beans (1 can – any variety white flesh bean)

1/2 c nutritional yeast

Seasonings: salt, pepper, oregano, basil, parsley flakes, chili powder

Saute onions and garlic in sauce pan with a little bit of water until translucent (about 5 minutes). Add diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, beans and seasonings. Cook for a few minutes to allow flavors to meld and beans and tomatoes to warm through – about 5 minutes. Blend with immersion blender, regular blender or food processor (may need to do so in batches). Add nooch and stir to incorporate.  

Use sauce to top zucchini noodles or anything else of your choice!

Creamy Tomato Sauce with Zucchini Noodles

This quick meal turned out so well, I’m submitting it to Diet, Dessert, and Dogs’ Wellness Weekend. Check out all the other great recipes too!

One response

  1. This sounds great! I have been cooking almost everything with beans these days. . . can’t wait to give this a try. 😀 Thanks so much for submitting it to Wellness Weekend this week!

Leave a Reply

