Recipe Updates & VeganMoFo!

I had a busy weekend tweaking recipes.

I’ve made two updates. One is an update to Cheezy Kale Chips. I took out the oil, and they still turned out great! Plus, the calories are quite a bit less because they are basically fat-free without the oil. Dr. Fuhrman and Dr. Esselstyn would be proud 😉

The second update I made was to my Pumpkin Spice Muffin. They’re so heavy and dense, I wondered if the baking powder or baking soda were doing anything for the recipe. They weren’t. I took both out, and the muffins turned out great! They’re exactly the same with it in, so if you just can’t fathom a muffin without a little chemical reaction goin’ on, use the original recipe. But if you are a minimalist like me, you’ll appreciate the reduction in ingredients – and one less trip to the cupboard!

Finally, VeganMoFo is next month! Whoohoo! I became away of the event a little last year, and since I didn’t have a blog yet, I just followed along the best I could. Wow, what an event! If you want a way to be introduced to a bunch of new vegan blogs and recipes, or if you are just interested increasing your meatless or vegan meals, check out the happenings next month.

VeganMoFo 2011

I can’t decide if I can/want to commit to an entire month of postings, so I have yet to register Veggie V’s Vegan Adventure for the event. Mr. M and I will be out-of-town for a wedding on the first, and I won’t be able to post, and October is my birthday month (more on that soon!), so I might be busy, and and…Sounds like a bunch of excuses, hu?

I’ll decide if I’m going to participate this week (The deadline is this weekend, so I have to decide by then!) and keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

