Vegan MOFO Day 5: Vegetable Chowder

So…Vegan MOFO has been charging along, and where have I been? Apparently, not participating like I’d planed 😦 But I’m going to make up for it. I promise!

Before our trip to Tennessee, Mr. M and  I visited our favorite farm stand and picked up a GIANT head of cauliflower.

The Cauliflower is as Big as my Head!

One of my favorite ways to use cauliflower is to make vegetable chowder. It’s a very simple recipe, and it is delicious. It’s so delicious, in fact, that we ate is so fast, I forgot to take a picture. Ooops! (I didn’t mind not having any soup left to photograph, though, because Mr. M ate two bowls! That’s a huge compliment.)

Vegetable Chowder

1 lg head cauliflower

3-5 lbs potatoes (about the same volume as cauliflower)

4 – 6 c vegetable broth, water, or combo

1 med. onion, diced

3 lg carrots, diced or sliced

2 stalks celery, diced

salt, pepper, garlic powder (to taste)

Clean and chop cauliflower and potatoes to about the same size. Boil in large pot with enough water to cover vegetables. Boil until very tender. (Cover with a lid for quicker cooking.) Once tender, drain cauliflower and potatoes. Return half of mixture to large pot. Add vegetable broth and/or water. Blend mixture until smooth with immersion blender (or blend in food processor or stand blender before returning the veggies to the stove). Add reserved potato/cauliflower, carrots, celery, onion and seasonings to blended veggie mix. Bring to a boil, cover pot, reduce to a simmer, and cook until veggies are tender. Stir every 15 minutes or so.

*Sauteing the not-boiled veggies before adding them to the soup base will greatly decrease cooking time.

I’ve made a lot of different variations of this soup by adding different vegetables. I love adding broccoli, but Mr. M is weirded out by the green color because has a tendency to turn the entire mixture green. (Ooohhh….St. Patty’s Day idea?!) I’ve also had a lot of luck with adding mushrooms and minced, fresh garlic instead of garlic powder.

Side note: I haven’t had much luck freezing this soup. The cauliflower or the potatoes (I’m not sure which one) don’t thaw well and change the texture. The flavor is preserved, but I find the grainy-ness of the soup base unpleasant.

UPDATE: After I posted this yesterday, I couldn’t help but make it for dinner again. And, this time, I took a picture before we gobbled it all up 🙂

Comfort in a Bowl

4 responses

  1. Mmm – that soup sounds wonderful! I’m going to have to make it soon. I found cauliflower last week for 89 cents a head so my refrigerator is currently 79% cauliflower. 🙂

Leave a Reply

