Vegan MoFo Day 8: Sweet Potato, Kale & Split-Pea Soup

Vegan MoFo Day 8…already! It’s crazy how fast this month is going. Then again, I think October always goes fast because it’s my favorite month of the year…and my birthday month. Woohoo! Par – tay! In a couple of weeks, I’ll begin sharing the 8 Days of Veggie V! with you. Are you getting excited yet?! Hahaha. Oh, if I were only joking 😉

Mr. M and I participated in another 5k this morning. I wish I had a picture to show you, but Mr. M is camera-shy, and I forgot to ask for a solo pic. Plus, I don’t exactly look pretty on event days. I’ve never been able to pull off the headband. Regardless, I was excited to post my fast time ever with 43+ minutes. So ya, in case you haven’t figured it out, I’m still walking/jogging. But, in my defense, I’ve only been running a few months. Fourteen is a few, right?! Hahaha. Again, I wish I were joking.

I love running. As you know, I love my treadmill. I can run for over 2 miles without walking on my treadmill. I even ran on the treadmill at the hotel last weekend when were in Tennessee. (I also spent some quality time with the elliptical machine, which I haven’t done since college.) But running outside is SO much different. It’s a lot more work! I’ve been trying to get out more, but I’m not quite comfortable being out by myself, especially super early in the morning, which is typically when I work out.

To get us ready for the big race (ha ha!), I made a crazy healthy soup last night. Although Mr. M passed on eating any, he did call it vitamin soup, which I kind of liked, but went with the more literal name anyway.

Sweet Potato, Kale & Split-Pea Soup

2 lg sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

1 lg bunch kale (I like the flat kind)

1 c yellow split-peas*

1 sm onion, diced

1 lg cove garlic, minced

4 c veggie broth

2 – 4 c water

Seasonings to taste (I only used a little salt and a couple cranks of pepper.)

Saute onion and garlic in a little bit of broth until translucent – about 5 minutes – in a large soup pot. Add remaining broth and desired amount of water. Add sweet potatoes, kale, and yellow split-peas. (If using pre-cooked split-peas, add to soup after potatoes are tender). Add seasonings. Bring soup to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until potatoes are tender, kale is wilted, and split-peas are al dente (or heated through if using pre-cooked) – about 20 – 30 minutes.

*Pre-cook the yellow split-peas if you want them well done because the sweet potatoes will fall apart before your split-peas are well done/mushy. Do an internet search for a method that works for you.

Sweet Potato, Kale & Split-Pea Soup

I’m sure a different legume or grain would work great in this soup – or even just the sweet potatoes and kale. I originally went to the pantry for some red lentils, but decided to save them for tonight’s soup (spoiler alert!). The yellow split-peas looked so lonely all by themselves (The red lentils have tons of company from their green and brown cousins), I just had to use some. And I’m glad I did!

I have a lot more recipes to share with you this month, and, in keeping with my birthday month theme, I’m going to share a little bit more about myself and why I decided to dedicate myself to a plant-based way of life. Come back for more MoFo madness!

6 responses

Leave a Reply

