Vegan MoFo Day 23: Tortilla Soup

I love tortilla soup. I’ve made it a few times in the last year or so, and I made it different every time, so I’ve never shared a recipe. But this time, I wrote everything down.

Tortilla Soup

1 lg onion, diced
2-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 med bell pepper, chopped
4 c veggie broth
2-4 c water
1 c corn (fresh or frozen)
3 c mixed beans (pinto, black, canary, red, etc)
3 c fire roasted tomatoes
1 – 2 limes, juiced
1 bunch cilantro, minced
6 med corn tortillas, torn or cut into pieces or strips
Seasonings: salt, pepper, chili powder, cummin, chipotle powder, etc.

Saute onions, garlic, and peppers in a little bit of veggie broth in a big pot until tender. Add remaining broth and water to soup pot. Add beans, corn, tomatoes, and seasonings. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Cook about 20 minutes. Add tortillas and lime juice. Cook another 10+ minutes. Add cilantro before servings.

Makes 5 meal sized servings.

Tortilla Soup

I really like this recipe because it’s easy it uses corn tortillas, which I love (I’ve always preferred corn over flour) – and they aren’t fried. I avoid as much as oil as possible, in general, but especially when it’s not needed. And it’s not needed here.

Along with my giant bowl of soup, I also had a chunky guac salad. I just chunked some avocado and tossed it with a diced tomato, a couple of tablespoons of diced onion, about a tablespoon of fresh cilantro (I had a lot left over from the soup garnish.), a pinch of granulated garlic, a sprinkle of chili powder, and a couple liberal shakes of sea salt. Total deliciousness!

Chunky Quac Salad

Can you believe Vegan MOFO is nearing the end already?! There are only a few days left of the fun. Check out the blog roll and RSS feeder before it’s over!!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

