Cauliflower Fried Rice

I’ve been reading all over the net about cauliflower being used as a rice substitute, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m not the biggest cauliflower fan, so I was a little reluctant, but as with my “cream” based soups and lower carb mashed potatoes, cauliflower did it again – in a good way!

Cauliflower Fried Rice

2 med heads of cauliflower, riced

2 cups mixed veggies

1 c onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic

3-4 TBSP soy sauce

1 TBSP toasted sesame oil*

seasonings: salt, pepper, etc – to taste
“Rice” the cauliflower in a food processor – pulse until looks like tiny grains of rice.

Sautee onions and garlic in sesame oil on medium heat until translucent. Add cauliflower and cook another 5 or so minutes. Add frozen mixed veggies and cover pan. Cook until veggies thawed and cauliflower has cooked down. Add soy sauce and stir to combine. Cook without lid until liquid evaporates from bottom of pan.

Makes 4 one-two cup servings.

*I’m going to try “frying” the cauliflower in veggie broth next time and use the sesame oil as a flavor enhancer – or even leave it out. It didn’t add that much to the dish.

Click here for nutrition information.

Cauliflower Fried Rice

I was surprised by the butter flavor of this dish when reheated. It was almost more flavorful the second day.

 
Let me know what you think!
 
I’m sharing this recipe at DDD’s Wellness Weekends.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Fried Rice (that is not fried) «

Leave a comment