Chinese Noodle Soup Bowls

I saw a recipe on Rachel Ray the other day that I thought would be delicious veganized: Chinese Noodle Soup Bowls. She included meat balls, which I didn’t today (veggie balls, of course), but I’m going to turn that idea into a new veggie burger recipe later this week. Stay tuned!

Chinese Noodle Soup

4 c veggie broth

2 c water (or more or less depending on how soupy you want your soup)

2 stalks celery, thinly sliced

2 carrots, thinly sliced

1 bell pepper, cut into bit sized pieces

2 bunches scallions, whites diced & greens cut on bias

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

2-3 cloves garlic, sliced thin

1 inch fresh ginger, sliced thin

1 bunch greens, ribbon cut (I used chard)

1/4 c soy sauce (I used tamari)

4-8 oz thin noodles (I used 6 oz soba noodles)

Saute hard veggies (celery, carrot and bell pepper) in a little bit of broth until tender. About 10 minutes. (You could also saute in oil. I suggest sesame oil for a nice flavor kick.) Add remaining broth and desired amount of water. Add mushrooms, scallions (both whites and greens), garlic and ginger. Bring mixture to a boil. Add noodles and cook until al dente. Turn off heat or reduce to very low and add soy sauce and wilt in greens. Serve immediately.  

Click here for nutritional information.

I found the soy sauce to be enough seasoning, but you may want a kick of spice or some more salt. Also, I don’t think this soup will freeze very well because of the starch that’s released from the pasta; it gives the broth a thickness reminiscent of adding corn starch or arrowroot powder. (This effect may not happen if you use  gluten-free pasta.)

I got three GIANT bowls of soup from this recipe. I’d say they’re at least two cups each (which is a lot of noodles and veggies!).

Look at all those noodles!

Leave a Reply

