“Chicken” with Tomatoes & Olives

I think I’m sensitive to wheat. I’ve been thinking this for a few weeks, and I’m strongly considering an elimination diet over the holidays. But until then, I need want to use up the Gardein products I have in the freezer.

In general, I’m not a big fan of processed foods. I make my own veggie burgers (check out the Recipes page for a couple good ones!); I make my own salad dressings and dips, and I don’t remember the last time I bought a dessert (OK, that’s a lie; I bought a giant, full of fat and sugar piece of vegan cake from Whole Foods for my birthday) or a muffin. But occasionally, either from poor planning or laziness, I happily dig through the freezer for whatever emergency goodies I have stashed in there. And this week, that happened twice.

We must have had a busier weekend than I realized, because it flew by without my making my usual weekly food supply. But sometimes good things come from nothing 🙂

“Chicken” with Tomatoes & Olives

1 pk Gardein Chick’n Scallopini

1 can diced tomatoes (about 1.5 cups)

1 can black olives (about 1 cup)

1 – 2 c fresh spinach

Seasonings: salt, pepper, granulated garlic, oregano, basil

Cook the Chick’n according to package directions. (I brown each side on high then lower the heat and continue cooking, flipping, until they’re heated through.) Add tomatoes, black olives, seasonings and spinach. Cook until spinach is wilted and tomatoes are warmed.

Makes 2 servings

 

Both times I made this dish, I ate it before I took a picture. Yes. It really was that good.

I’ve made a couple other delicious items with Gardein products, including “Beef” & Broccoli (Gardein Beef Tips with broccoli florets and a little soy sauce), Pepper “Steak” (Gardein Beef Tips with a bag of frozen peppers and onions and a little soy sauce), and Vegetable Stir “Fry” (Gardein Beef Tips with a bag of frozen stir fry veggies and  little bit of soy sauce).  I love that the frozen veggies create enough moisture to keep the Gardein from sticking to the pan, so no oil or additional liquids are needed. Quick. Easy. And Healthy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

