No-Bake Pumpkin Custard

I haven’t felt very creative in the kitchen lately, but when I stopped to review all the recipes I’ve made in the past couple of week, I guess I have been!

Today, I made a no-bake pumpkin custard, but that’s not what I set out to make. I’m not sure exactly what I had in mind, but it had something to do with gingerbread. What I ended up with wasn’t exactly gingerbread; it was more like pumpkin pie filling, which is awesome because that’s the only part of pumpkin “pie” that I like.

Combine everything in a bowl

No Bake Pumpkin Custard

1/2 c white beans
3/4 c pumpkin puree
1 tsp molasses
1/2 tsp ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
4 pks stevia
2 TBPS maple syrup
1 TBSP chia seeds
1/4 c oat flour

1/4 c oats
1/4 almond meal

Puree beans until smooth. Add to bowl with remaining ingredients. Combine thoroughly. Spoon mixture into a glass baking dish and freeze or refrigerate. Mixture remains ‘loose’ and will probably have to be spooned out of container (unless frozen).

Serving Size: 4 large servings

Click here for nutrition information.

Pumpkin Custard Ready for the Fridge

I refrigerated my custard instead of freezing it, so it remained pretty “loose.” I don’t really know how else to describe it. It’s not “set;” it will probably have to be spooned out, but it could be shaped into a square or wedge shape if you’re concerned about that.

I think this filling would be awesome in a pie shell. I’d probably pop it in the freezer then so the pieces set enough to be taken out of the pie without falling apart.

You may also be able to bake the custard/pie filling/pie. I didn’t try that because I love the flavor of cold pumpkin pie filling (I’ve never liked pie crust).

I bet this would also be delicious with oatmeal, as the sandwich filling between two cookies or graham crackers, etc. It would probably also make a great smoothie filling and/or be great with a cold cereal.

Spoonable Pumpkin Custard

2 responses

  1. these sound like great ideas – and I love that it uses beans. If someone wanted to use sugar instead of stevia, how much do you think she should use? Thanks! I’ve been looking at vegan pumpkin pies. Love the idea of not having to bake this one – but might try it. there’s no room in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

