Bean & Lentil Veggie Burgers

When I made my Bean & Lentil Chili, I made enough lentils to make some veggie burgers. I’d been tossing around the idea of for a while, so when I finally got around to making them, I was pretty psyched – even though I hadn’t written down any of my ideas, so I had to wing it. Oooops!

This is what I came up with…

Bean & Lentil Veggie Burgers

3 c cooked beans (2 cans)
2 c cooked lentils (French, green or brown)
4 T soy sauce
1/4 c banana peppers
1/2 c tahini
1/2 c ea diced carrot, onion, celery, green pepper
2-3 cloves garlic, minced

Preheat oven 350F

Saute carrots, celery, green pepper, onion, and garlic in a little bit of broth.

Puree beans in food processor. Add lentils, veggies, soy sauce, tahini, and banana peppers. Stir to combine. Mixture will be very wet.

Drop giant spoonfuls onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Form into patty shapes.

Bake 60+ minutes or until dry to the touch.

Makes 6 very large burgers. Freezes well.

Click here for nutrition information.

Bean & Lentil Veggie Burger (topped with banana peppers)

These burgers are a little dry. I think next time I make them I’d add a couple tablespoonfuls of nutritional yeast to help take away some of the pre-baking moisture. Of course, you could always use oats or quinoa flakes to help bind the ingredients.

 
While these were in the oven, I kept thinking about turning the mix into a “meat” loaf or even mini loaves.
 

Bean & Lentil Burgers Freeze Well!

Leave a Reply

