Leftover Potatoes Two Ways

Did you help stimulate the economy today? I did! But just a little. I don’t have anyone to buy gifts for, really, so I was just shopping for myself. (Mr. M and I exchange a gift or two, but we usually get what we need/want/can afford when we need/want/can’t live without it throughout the year.)

After I did a little shopping (locally – bonus!), I came home  – hungry. This is not new, people. I often come home hungry. And when I’m hungry, I want food. Now. Not late. It’s a good thing I have a freezer full of delicious and nutritious food, hu? Woohoo! Today’s freezer find was a soup I made last week but didn’t get around to sharing with you. I actually used the main ingredient – roasted potatoes – to make two recipes.

Smashed Potato and Kale Soup

2 lbs new red potatoes
4 c chopped kale
3-4 c veggie broth
1-2 c filtered water
1/2 c minced onion
3-4 cloves garlic (about 2 TBSP)
1 TBSP olive oil
Seasonings to taste: Salt, Pepper, Mrs. Dash original, dried parsley flakes, etc.

Roast potatoes at 400-425F for about an hour or until fork tender. Remove from oven and cool slighty.

In a soup pot, saute onions, garlic and kale in olive oil. Saute until kale is very wilted. Add a dash of veggie broth if pan is dry. You may also want to salt at this step to build your seasoning layers.

Smash potatoes with a hand-held potato masher. Add potatoes to soup pot along with veggie broth and water. Season to taste.

Bring soup to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer and cook until all ingredients are warmed through and/or soup achieves desired consistency. (Soup with be brothy.)

Serving Size: 3 two cup servings

Click here for nutrition information.

Smashed Potato Goodness in a Bowl

 I used a little oil in this recipe, which is a bit unusual for me, but I really wanted to make sure the kale was wilted. I usually use the big, flat kale, but they didn’t have any when I went to the store, so I went with the curly kind. In my opinion, the curly kind is a little stronger in flavor and a little tougher in texture. The oil really helped soften the kale, but I’m sure you could accomplish the same thing with veggie broth or water. Or, if you are familiar with the curly kale, you could probably just let the heat of the soup wilt the greens. One reason I love soup is because it’s so versatile and forgiving!

 
After I made the soup, I still have some roasted potatoes left, and I couldn’t get the idea of potato salad out of my head. I know it’s not really the season for potato salad, but it turned out well, and it was really good beside a veggie burger.
 
1/2 lb roasted new red potatoes
1 c diced parsley
1 c scallions (whites & greens), cut on bias
Seasonings to taste: salt, pepper, granulated garlic, Mrs. Dash original
 
Vinaigrette:
2 tsp brown mustard
2 tsp rice vinegar
1 TBSP soy sauce
1 TBSP water (or more to thin dressing)
 
Using left-over roasted potatoes, smash with your fingers. Add to bowl along with parsley, scallions, vinaigrette, and seasonings. Stir and refrigerate to allow flavors to meld.Serving Size: 2 servings

Naked Potato Salad

Potato Salad DressingPotato Salad all Dressed Up

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Happy potato smashing!
One response

  1. Pingback: Leftovers Roundup | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

