Spicy Black Bean Hummus

As I was packing my lunch earlier this week, I realized I didn’t have a dip for my weekly raw veggies. I don’t mind eating them naked (or dipping in salsa, which is surprisingly good if you haven’t tried it yet), but I wanted something a little more substantial, and I didn’t have time to whip up my favorite Caesar Chavez dressing from Appetite for Reduction. But I did have time to open, drain, and rinse a can of black beans, puree them, and season like my favorite guacamole.

Spicy Black Bean Hummus

1 can black beans, rinsed (about 1.5 cups)

1 TBSP lemon juice

1 TBSP minced onion

2 TBSP salsa

Favorite Mexican style spiced: cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, garlic powder/granulated garlic, etc…

Puree beans in blend or food processor. (I used my Magic Bullet, but I’m guessing a small food processor would work great too – if you don’t want to drag out a major appliance.) Stir in remaining ingredients and season to taste.

Super simple. Super quick. Super good.

I ate the dip before I took a picture. My bad.

It’s really good with veggies, but it’s also great with a fork 😉

4 responses

  1. HAHA! I have had many photo shoots where I have to tell myself to stop eating the subject because I won’t have anything to photograph soon enough. Picture or no picture, I can imagine what this tastes like and I am liking it already 🙂

Leave a Reply

