No Juicer? No Problem!

I don’t drink a lot of juice because of the calories. I’d much rather eat a piece of fruit than drink the basically fiber-free juice. Plus I don’t have a juice. I had one once, but it was a cheap one, and it (a) didn’t work very well, and (b) very next to impossible to clean. I think it eventually rusted under the sink in my old apartment, so I threw it away when I moved in with Mr. M.

But, even though I don’t drink a lot of juice, and I don’t have a juicer, I made juice this morning. And I drank (most of) it. (It made more than I expected, so I’m looking forward to the rest of it tomorrow.) So, how did I make juice? Or even why did I make juice? Well, I’ll tell ya!

Back story: Grapefruit was on sale a couple of weeks ago. Cranberries have been on sale since before Thanksgiving. I bought both items. Both items have been hanging out in the fridge for a while. Longer then a while. Long enough they had to be eaten. Today. So I ate them. Well, I drank them.

Grapefruit & Cranberry Blender Juice

2 large grapefruit, peeled and seeded

1 c cranberries

2 pks stevia

Add all ingredients to a blender* and blend away.

*If you don’t have a high powered blender, you may have to blend longer and/or be OK with bigger chunks of fruit.

Resulting juice is VERY pulpy, which I like. You retain all of the fiber, but you do have to kind of chew your juice, which again, I like. If you don’t like that, strain your juice through a very fine strainer or cheese cloth (ring out the pulp to get all the juice).

Grapefruit Cranberry Blender Juice

You might not need to use stevia or another sweetener if your grapefruits and/or cranberries are sweet enough. You’ll probably want to taste your juice before adding. Just blend a few seconds longer after you add it to incorporate. And for those of you who aren’t fans of stevia, myself included, the strong flavor of the grapefruit really covers the distinct flavor of the stevia. I couldn’t detect it all!

4 responses

  1. So you don’t need a juicer, but you need a high speed blender. Ha! That sounds really good, I might just try it in my non-high speed blender. I thought I was the only one in the world that likes grapefruit!! Glad I’m not!

    • Jane: I’m sure a regular blender will work just fine. I don’t know that my Ninja really makes that much of a difference, especially with fresh fruit. You might have to blend a bit longer – or not – depending upon how pulpy you like your juice.

      And I love grapefruit! The giant Texas reds are my favorite; they’re so sweet!

Leave a Reply

