It’s my Anniversary!

It’s my anniversary. That’s right, one year ago today,  Mr. M (whose first name is Chad, by the way) and I got married.

Anticipating the ceremony, slippers included!
 
Our wedding was kind of a whirlwind. We got our marriage license at the beginning of December, but we didn’t really have a date in mind. (In our county in Ohio, marriage licenses are good for six months, so we weren’t in a rush.) And, I’d been visiting my engagement ring at the jewelry store since I found it in early October. Mr. M wasn’t in a rush to drop the cash on my way-over-budget wedding rings, either, so December sped along without any wedding plans. Until…I got into the Christmas spirit.
 

I'm still waiting on another band to go in front of my engagement ring. But in the mean time, I'm enjoying these two!

 
 I’ve always loved Christmas Eve. Christmas day I  can take or leave; it’s really more of a let down than anything. (Someday, if we ever have children, I’m going to make Christmas day as fun and joyful as Christmas Eve so they don’t feel that same sense of deflation I always felt as a kid.) Building on that joy of Christmas Eve, I thought,  “Why not get married that day?” So we did.
 
I decided to keep my own last name and add Mr. M's to mine, so now I technically have two last names without a hyphen, which is proving to be quite a challange in some situations!
 
I knew I didn’t want a big wedding. Most of my family has passed away (my grandparents, dad, mom – all gone), and Mr. M’s family lives at least 5 hours away (plus they aren’t super close), so anything more than a friend or two was off my wish list. I guess I think of a wedding as an intimate moment between two people. It’s your lives; it should be your moment. (Kudos to those of you who choose to share your moment!) Anyway…I found an officient, arranged for a friend to be our witness and take a few photos, and we did it; we got married in our home in front of the Christmas tree on December 24, 2010.
 

Chad & Me with the Officient

 

Me and Ellen - our witness and photographer

I hope to some day take a cruise to renew our vows and have a more traditional ceremony where I wear a white dress and carry some kind of flowers. I’ve always wanted to do it on a beach at sunset, so whenever I lust over cruise packages, the first thing I check are the ports and times; if there isn’t at least one in the evening, it’s off the list.
 

Chad in his engagement chair. (His wedding ring came with a much-coveted recliner.)

 
Happy Anniversary to my hubby, and Merry Christmas Eve to those of you celebrating today. I hope you’re able to enjoy some time with those who make your world a little brighter and your face a little happier.
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2011 | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

