Cookie Bake-Down Part 3: Gingerbread/Molasses Cookies

The final cookie bake-down occurred between two similar, yet slightly different cookies, which might lead you to believe this isn’t a fair comparison. And while I don’t disagree, I don’t think these two cookies are different enough from each other to not be compared, either. Did that make sense? Ha ha!

The first cookie in this bake-down is Oh She Glows’ Wedded Bliss Soft Ginger Cookies.

OSG Ginger Cookies with raw sugar sprinkles

I had such high hopes for these cookies because Angela said she made these for her wedding, but I must have done something wrong. Instead of being soft and sweet, my cookies were crunchy and had a weird taste. Maybe it was my molasses. Or maybe it was the fact that I’ve never made – or even had – a gingerbread cookie before. (Yes, as sad as that sounds, it’s the truth.) Apparently, it’s difficult for me to make something I’ve never made/eaten before. (Hello, rock-hard biscuits, anyone?!) I still took these cookies to work, and people ate them with positive reviews, so maybe it was just my taster. Not sure, but I don’t think I’ll be making these again.

OSG Ginger Cookie

The last cookie in the cookie bake-down is Happy Herbivore’s Soft Molasses Cookies. Lindsay sent out this recipe one morning, and I had enough time before work  that day to whip up a batch, so I did. But again, these cookies didn’t do it for me.

HH Molasses Cookies

Also again, I had high hopes for these cookies. I love that they’re naturally fat-free (except for the trivial amount of fat in the whole wheat flour) and low in sugar, and they came together quickly. Unfortunately, I think the amount of molasses in this recipe was too much for me. It was a little too much for my co-workers, too.

HH Molasses Cookie with raw sugar sprinkle

Today’s cookie bake-down lesson: I don’t like molasses. A little late,  but good to know.

3 responses

  1. When i got tired of making gingerbread men for the kids’ class celebrations – way, way, way too much work to get the men and then couldn’t even use them if they didn’t look just right – i tried Sarah MAheney’s from peasnthankyou’s http://peasandthankyou.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6000692
    pumpkin molasses cookies and they were AWESOME. I was sick to death of gingerbread and molasses but these were pillowey and yummy, and I didn’t think twice about sending them with the kids for their celebrations.

    I’m sorry to hear Lindsey’s didn’t work for you. I’ve been wanting to try those, because they look so much healthier, but I’ve been hesitant because the black bean brownies and the pumpkin bean bars just tasted too healthy for when you really want a cookie.

    Tonight Jim wanted me to make chocolate chip cookies. My favorite has been Vegan Lunchboxes’ Banana Oatmeal Cookies, but Jim begged me to make the cookies without oatmeal. I made Maheney’s chocolate chip pie as cookies instead of pie w/ the coconut oil. They came out tasting like scones, so i added some more chocolate chips and sprinkled sugar on top for the next pan when I baked them and they were more like chocolate chip cookies. Then, I made the Vegan Lunch Box cookies which have NO sugar and No fat. So it doesn’t matter if I eat a ton of them, right? 😉

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I don’t know that I’ve made anything of Mama Pea’s before – at least not as written.

      Too bad you don’t care for HH’s black bean brownies; I loved them! But then again, I think I’m more into “healthy” baked goods than treat-sweet ones. The sugar just gets to me/makes me want more, more, more!

      I’m going to have to look up the Vegan Lunchbox cookies with no sugar or fat. How have I missed those?! Is it in her cookbook or on a blog somewhere?

      Angela from Oh She Glows has some chocolate chip cookies she swears by, but I haven’t tried them yet. Maybe you can try those when the family is demanding specific cookies. LOL Or, Katie has a recipe that looks easy and tasty. Keep me posted 🙂

  2. Pingback: Recipe Review: Macaroons | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

