Recipe Review: Happy Herbivore’s Cinnamon Buns

Christmas morning I was determined to make cinnamon rolls for breakfast. So I did. And they were delicious!

HH Cinnamon Roll

This was the first time I’ve ever made homemade cinnamon rolls, having only made the tube kind before, (All those trans fats from back in the day are still haunting my hips me.) so I’m really glad they turned out well!

I made Happy Herbivore’s Whole Wheat, Fat Free Vegan Cinnamon Buns (You can find this recipe online or in The Happy Herbivore Cookbook); I did have to make a few alterations, including using only 2 cups of flour instead of 2.5 (the dough was already pretty dry with the 2 cups, so adding that additional 1/2 cup would have made the dough WAY too dry), and using 5 tsp of almond milk in the glaze instead of 1 (1 didn’t even touch the 1 cup of powdered sugar). (I also added a dab of vanilla). I didn’t mind making the alterations because the final product was so delicious.

HH Cinnamon Rolls swimming in glaze

I ended up with 7 giant rolls instead of 6 as the recipe indicated, but that’s fine with me! After Mr. M and I each ate cinnamon rolls until we were in sugar comas (I call them rolls, but Mr. M and Lindsay both call them buns – interesting), I ended up freezing the left-overs in individual portions for one of those I-need-sugar mornings.

Leave a Reply

