Hello 2012

It’s here!!

I can’t believe it’s the end of the world beginning of a new year already.  Last year was awesome, and this will be even awesomer. (Yes, I know that’s not a word, but being more creative is on my goal’s list this year.) I see good things in our futures! And to help achieve those good things, I’m making a list of goals for 2012. No, these aren’t resolutions. I’m not resolving to do anything. But I am setting goals, and I have plans in place to help achieve my goals (without plans, goals are just wishes, and I save those for birthday candles).

2012 Goals (partial list)

Eat more kale (and other leafy greens). I just started eating greens (other than spinach) this year, and so far, so good. That needs to continue.

Eat less wheat and soy. I’ve recently become aware that wheat and soy play havoc on my digestive system. So do beans and lentils, but not to the same extent. I’ve been consciously working on lessening my gluten consumption. That needs to continue.

Eat higher raw. Some day, probably sooner than later, I’ll probably be a raw vegan. I might not be 100%, but I’ll be close. I already know raw food and my body get along well. Very well, in fact, so I’m going to consciously work on increasing my consumption of living foods. I do OK now with salads and veggie snacks, but I want to do better than OK. That needs to improve.

Workout harder. I just started lifting weights this year, and I just recently started lifting heavier weights. This also needs to continue.

Run faster and farther. I finally broke my mental hurdle and ran farther than two miles. In the last month or so, I’ve logged at two treadmill workouts at 3.2 and 4 miles, respectively. This needs to continue, increase, and improve. My speed is very slow. That needs to increase.

Blog more.  I want to be more consistent with my blogging. When I get busy with school and home stuff, blogging is the first thing to get pushed aside. But I enjoy it. I really enjoy it. I need to do more things that I enjoy. That needs to increase.

Create more recipes. Sometimes I get lazy and have toast/cereal for dinner. That’s not a problem – until it’s seven days later, and I’ve had toast/cereal for dinner every one of those seven days. (Don’t judge. You’re just jealous of my stack of nut butters – ha!) With my upcoming semester’s schedule, I should have time to develop two or three recipes each week – easily. We’ll see how that goes.

I have some more personal goals too, like make more of an effort to wear make-up and do my hair for work (this is a hard one!), shop less/spend less money, acquire more online teaching gigs, drive less, run outside more, take shorter showers, be nicer to Mr. M when I’ve had a bad day, have less bad days (!!), and the list goes on. (Mr M also wants me to add a couple of things to my goal’s list, including snuggle him more and give him more love pats in the middle of the night.  I’m not sure how I’m going to accomplish either, but I’ll work on it.)

Good luck with your new year’s goals!

Leave a Reply

