The Perfect Veggie Soup

I have the secret to a perfect vegetable soup – every time.

The secret is in the broth. (You thought I was going to sauce, didn’t you? Well, if you’re in your mid 30s or older you probably did. Ha!)

I use an entire bottle of vegetable juice as my broth base in my vegetable soup – V8 style. If you like it spicy, use the spicy version. If you want low sodium, they have that too. If you love to juice – make your own. Regardless of your veggie juice delivery method, you may need to add some water or veggie broth to the juice. When I made soup tonight, I didn’t have room to add water because of all of the vegetables, but the veggies I used were watery enough that I didn’t need to add any.

When it comes to adding veggies, use whatever you have. That’s usually why I made vegetable soup – because I have veggies that need to be used (and I don’t feel like roasting). Tonight’s soup consisted of an onion, about a tablespoon of minced garlic, a diced green pepper, four small, diced summer squash/zucchini, two carrots, a few stalks of celery hearts and two bags of frozen veggies – stir fry style and Asian style. Lots of veggies like I said. Lots and lots of veggies. I didn’t even have room for the broccoli and greens I wanted to add! (But I have a plan to use them tomorrow.)

I have another secret ingredient, but if I tell you, it won’t be a secret anymore! (Hint: It’s A1 Sauce!)

One response

  1. Pingback: A Veggie V Thanksgiving | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

