My First Spring Rolls

I’ve had a lot of firsts lately: my first kale salad; my first raw cupcakes (recipe coming very soon!); and my first spring rolls.

I picked up some rice papers during a recent trip to Whole Foods (it’s an event since the nearest one is about an hour and a half away in either direction), but I hadn’t had a chance to use any of them yet. Until tonight.

School started again, so I’ve been swamped with work and pressed for time.  (Sorry for the lack of posts the last couple of days.) In preparation for my lack of cooking time, I picked up some broccoli slaw last weekend in hopes of making spring rolls. And I’m so glad I did! Combined with some avocado I needed to use up, my first time rolling was deliciously simple.

Spring Rolls

4 spring roll wrappers

1/2 c broccoli slaw mix

1 small/medium avocado, sliced thinly

Sprinkle of salt, chili pepper, and granulated garlic

Bring spring rolls to life by soaking in warm water for a few seconds. (Follow package directions.) Lay pliable wrapper on a wet towel and blot excess moisture. Lay two slices of avocado end-to-end in the middle of the wrapper. Top with 1/8th of the broccoli slaw mixture and sprinkle with seasonings. Fold one side of the spring roll wrapper over the veggies and pull back towards them, forming a tight roll. Fold ends over and roll the spring roll towards the open flap. Place on plate seam side down. Slice in two on the bias. Serve with your favorite sauce. (I like a tiny bit of soy sauce.)

The rice papers are surprisingly high in calories. Adding avocado to them increases the fat and calories, so this seemingly light meal is actually pretty heavy. That’s the ONLY thing I don’t like about these. Otherwise, they’re delicious! And I love being able to make them at home so the rice papers are fresh and soft and chewy instead of tough and gummy.
 

Avocado Spring Rolls

Leave a Reply

