Chocolate Pomegranate Microwave Mini Sponge Cake

I feel guilty. I don’t like feeling guilty. It’s normally not an emotion I subscribe to. But I can’t help it. I feel guilty for only posting once a week. I feel guilty for not updating the theme like I’ve been meaning to. I feel guilty for not updating the banner like I’ve been meaning to. I feel guilty for not replying to comments in a more timely manner. I feel guilty for not converting to Recipage live I’ve been meaning to. I just plain ol’ feel guilty. But I’ll get over it. Chocolate cake helps.

Ever since we watched POM Wonderful Presents The Greatest Movie Ever Sold, Mr. M has been obsessed with pomegranate juice. So far, he’s brought home at least three different brands and some seeds (which he decided he doesn’t like). I’ve had a little sip of each, and, well, it’s OK at best. I do kind of like the dry feeling it leaves in my mouth like red wine (which I haven’t had since 2008), but if I had to choose a juice, pomegranate wouldn’t be my first choice. But, since there has been a large bottle of it occupying my fridge for the past couple of weeks, I decided to incorporate it into a recipe. After all, it is almost Valentine’s Day, and pomegranate juice is red…and sweet…two major requirements for a Valentine’s Day treat. This is what I came up with.

Chocolate Pomegranate Microwave Mini Sponge Cake (GF)

1/4 c Gluten Free Flour mix (I used Bob’s)

1 T GF Oat Flour

1/4 tsp Pysllium Powder*

2 T Cocoa Powder

1/2 t Baking Powder

Dash Salt

1 T Maple Syrup (or more if you want a sweeter cake)

1 t Vanilla Extract

2 T Pomegranate Juice

1/4 c Applesauce

Wisk together dry ingredients. Add wet. Stir to combine. Place all ingredients into a shallow, microwave safe dish, or separate batter into three microwave safe silicon muffin molds. Microwave cake for about 1 minute on high; microwave cupcakes one at a time on high for about 30 seconds. Eat immediately.

*The psyllium powder is a replacement for xanthium gum. It worked nicely and added a little extra fiber. I’ve also read that flax or chia meal works as a substitute.

Quick Chocolate Pomegranate Frosting

1 T cashews

2 T pomegranate juice

1 T cocoa powder

1/2 tsp maple syrup

Blend ingredients for about one minute in a small, bullet-type blender.  

This cake is spongy, hence the title. It might be too spongy for some people. I made it a couple of times with a different mix of ingredients, and it always turned out spongy. (I’m blaming it on the GF flour mix.) I got used to the sponginess because I really wanted a gluten-free microwave cake. I’ve been trying to eat as little gluten as possible, and I’ve a huge novice working with gluten-free flours (except for oat flour and almond meal, which I’ve had some experience with, but not much). When I add in the desire for my baked goods to be fat-free, I’m really giving myself a challenge!

Since Valentine’s Day is on Tuesday, and week nights are crazy busy for most people, a five-minute cake from cupboard to stomach – including frosting – might be the answer to your gluten-free, oil-free last-minute special treat. (Or quick breakfast…go ahead…treat yourself!)

I’m sharing this recipe at Wellness Weekends.

3 responses

  1. Look like a great first foray into GF! I actually love pomegranate juice. Tell Mr M to get a whole pomegranate next time and eat the fresh seeds–fabulous. 🙂 Thanks for submitting this cutie minii-cake to WW this week! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Anti-candida, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

Leave a Reply

