My New Toy

I did it; I bought a Vitamix!

I’ve been wanting, wishing for, and dreaming about owning a Vitamix blender for years and years. So, one lonely Sunday evening while Mr. M was in bed, I ordered one…from QVC. Ha ha ha. That still makes me laugh. I guess it’s not that random; they sell everything; I used to order from them all the time, and I love absent-mindedly watching the different “programs” while I’m doing other things (like blog posts!). Anyway, this particular night, the programming was focused on the daily special – a Vitamix…for $100 off the retail price. That alone was enough to make me hunt down a credit card. But, get this, there was a choice in base colors, and one of the choices was red. Woohoo! That was all I needed. The universe has spoken, and it said, “Order me.” So I did.

A week or two later and this baby was mine.

My New Toy!

Mr. M was reluctant. How could a blender be worth $500?! Then, we made whole fruit juice: pineapple (with the core) orange (lazily skinned). Yum! Next, we made whole fruit/veggie green juice: a green smoothie made with green grapes, lazily peeled Meyer lemons, parsley, tons of kale, a handful of ice cubes, and an apple. Liquid delight and a satisfied husband. Any machine that can turn whole leave kale into silky smooth liquid is apparently approved for residence in our home. Good to know, especially since I threw away the return label because I knew I was keeping it 😉

Whole Food Juice/Kale Smoothie

8 responses

  1. Congratulations! We got ours 3 years ago and use it for everything! Smoothies, sauces, salad dressings, soups, bean dips, but butters, sorbets…it gets used at least once daily every day! Enjoy in good health!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Freezer Cups | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

  3. Pingback: My First Blender Soup! | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

