Warm Rice Salad

I don’t eat many grains, but when I do, I try to balance them out with a lot of veggies. Last weekend, I was in the mood for wild rice (which, incidentally, is a grass, not a grain) and the rainbow chard looked good at the store, so some kind of rice salad was on the menu. Add in some mushrooms and a few seasonings, and this is what  I came up with.

Warm Rice Salad

Warm Rice Salad

2 cups cooked rice (I used wild rice)

2 bunches greens (I used rainbow chard) – about 4 c chopped

1 med onion, diced

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

16 oz sliced mushrooms (I used crimini)

Cook rice according to package directions while prepping veggies.

Saute onions, garlic and mushrooms in a splash of broth or water, OR begin saute by salting onions, garlic and mushrooms and covering pan with a tight fitting lid until veggies begin to sweat. Saute until mushrooms are tender. Add greens in batches, stirring to incorporate. To help wilt, cover pan for a few minutes between batches. Add rice to mix after all greens have been incorporated. Season as desired. (I used tamari, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper.)

I got three pretty good-sized servings from this combo – enough to eat for lunch all week. Paired with a veggie burger and a piece of fruit, and I was stuffed until dinner.

If you wanted to make this more of a main dish, add some beans, tofu cubes, seitan, tempeh, or your favorite meat substitute for a protein punch.

Leave a Reply

