Basic Granola (GF)

I made granola for the first time tonight…and it turned out awesome!

I read a few different recipes and even had a friend share her tried-and-true recipe, combined all of those, and came up with my own, versatile recipe.

Basic Granola (GF)

Veggie V’s Easy Granola (GF)

2 c oats (I used GF old-fashioned)

1 c puffed cereal (I used puffed brown rice)

2/3 c nut mix (I used 1/3 c almond slices and 1/3 c whole almonds)

1/8 c (heaping) flax meal (I used golden flax)

1/4 c oil (I used coconut oil)

1/3 c liquid sweetener (I used maple syrup)

2/3 c dried fruit (I used 1/3 c raisins and 1/3 c craisins)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 300F. Line a large baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper.

Combine oats, cereal, flax, and nuts in a large bowl.

In a separate, small, microwave proof bowl, microwave the coconut oil and brown rice syrup for about 45 seconds until coconut oil is melted. Swirl together to combine.

Add melted oil and sweetener to oats mixture. Stir to combine.

Place oat mixture on baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, stirring half way through. (I set the timer for 10 minutes, stirred, returned to oven, and set the timer for another 10 minutes so I wouldn’t get sidetracked.) Once time has elapsed, remove baking sheet from oven, remove oat mixture from baking sheet (or as much as you can) to the original mixing bowl, and add dried fruit and cinnamon. Stir to combine, and return mixture to cookie sheet to cool.

Allow mixture to cool for a couple of hours. Store in a glass container. (To keep baked goods crisp, store in glass; to keep baked goods soft, store in plastic.)

Enjoy!

I have all kinds of ideas for this granola: add coconut, add cocoa nibs, add chia seeds, change-up the nuts, change-up the cereal, use maple syrup as the liquid sweetener, add nut butter, change-up the dried fruit (dates, prunes, dried banana chips, blueberries, strawberries, etc.)…the possibilities are endless.

As I was making the granola, Mr. M came into the kitchen to investigate and promptly made a declaration that making granola is more expensive than buying it. Um. No. I didn’t have to make a special purchase for any ingredient in my granola. The ingredients I used can be found in any well-stocked (or even not-so-well-stocked) pantry. Even non-vegans are likely to have the above items in their pantries – the recipe is crazy versatile. Plus, you control the sugar! And the fat. And the salt. (I didn’t use any extra salt, so the only sodium in my granola is naturally occurring – bonus!) Plus, I know my granola is truly gluten-free because I used (trusted) gluten-free ingredients.

I’m not sure how long this granola will keep, but I’m pretty sure I’ll eat it all before I have a chance to find out 😉

2 responses

    • Jane: the puffed rice cereal was my friend’s idea. (She adds it to her granola.) She swore it would crisp up, and it did. It adds a nice texture difference to the oats.

      I’m a little concerned about having it around too. I’m a snacker, so grab and go snacks are bad news! I’ll have to rely on my will-power. Uh oh 😉

Leave a Reply

