Carmely Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls

I made date paste last weekend for a batch of Pumpkin Spice Muffins, and I didn’t use it all. I meant to put some in my giant green smoothies, but I kept forgetting. All week. Nice self. Real nice. But, it’s all good – and so was the date paste, so I made some cookie balls. And, unexpectedly, the dates added a nice, caremly flavor to the dough. I love surprises like that!

Carmely Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls

Carmely Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls (Almost Raw)

1 c almond meal

1/4 – 1/2 c date paste (depending on how loose you want your dough)

1 TBSP melted coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

dash salt

1/4 – 1/2 c chocolate chips

Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Form into balls. (I used one of the cookie scoops I got for Christmas…finally.) Place balls on parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze. Once firm, transfer to an airtight container, and store in the freezer.

My dough made nine pretty-good-sized balls.

If you want to make these truly raw, make your own almond meal (I used store-bought, which may or may not be raw) and your own chocolate chips (with equal parts raw cocoa powder, coconut oil, and liquid sweetener or stevia – mix to combine, flatten onto parchment, freeze, and cut into chocolate chunks. Store in the freezer.). I used store-bought mini-chips for this batch of dough.

I think these might be good baked, too. I’m going to make another batch with a couple more ingredients (to make them oven worthy) and see what happens. I’ll share the results, of course 🙂

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Carmely Chocolate Chip Cookies | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

