Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

I’ve been on a smoothie kick lately, so the fact that I had a couple super ripe bananas lying around the other day was an opportunity I couldn’t let pass by without some kind of fan-fare. A peanut butter banana muffin fan-fare.

Peanut Butter Banana Muffin with a peanut butter middle

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

(gluten-free, oil free, refined sugar free, soy free)

1 c (heaping) oat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

dash salt

1 heaping tsp chia seeds

1 flax egg (I used golden flax)

1/2 c banana puree (I blended 2 medium bananas in a bullet style blender)

1/4 c peanut butter

1/4 c maple syrup (or your favorite liquid sweetener)

Optional Add-ins: 1/2 tsp PNB dropped into the center of each muffin, 1/2 tsp jelly dropped or swirled into each muffin, chocolate chips in the batter or spinkled on top, etc…

Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl. (I used a fork to make sure everything is thuroughly combined.) Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir to combine. Fill muffin liners about 3/4 full. Add add-ins if using. Bake at 350F for about 15 minutes. (Check at 12 – toothpick inserted in middle should come out clean.) Allow to cook before consumer if you don’t want to be hyper aware of the chia seeds. (They’re a little crunchy in the fresh maked muffins but soften and become barely noticable in the cooled muffins.)

Servings per batch: 8

Notes:

Oat flour: I make my own oat flour by filling my largest bullet style blender cup with gluten-free oats and blending until they turn into a fine powder. It only takes a minute or two. I’ve found this to the be easiest way. I store the extra in an air tight container in a cool, dry place.

Flax egg: I’ve been using a 1:2 ratio (flax:water) for my flax eggs recently, so 1 TBSP golden flax meal + 2 TBSP water. Allow mixture to sit about 10 minutes to form a jell.

Baking powder: I doubled the normal amount of baking powder (normally 1/4 tsp to 1 c flour) because of the heaviness of the peanut butter.

Chia seeds: I added the chia seeds to add omega 3’s to help counteract the omega 6’s in the peanut butter. I’m sure the muffins would be fine without them if you want to omit.

Baking time: Our oven runs a little cool, so most of my baked goods take a little longer. Unless you’re new to your oven, you probably know if your oven runs hot or cold.

Naked Muffin!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a huge fan of banana in things, but these muffins hit the spot. None of the ingredients are overpowering. I thought the peanut butter might not be noticable enough, but it stands on it’s own. And, the oat flour make the muffins very moist. I think these could easily be frosted and considered cupcakes. Peanut butter frosting maybe?!

**********

I’m sharing this recipe:

Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays @ Simply Sugar & Gluten Free

Allergy Free Wednesdays @ Whole New Mom

Wellness Weekends @ Diet Dessert and Dogs

Allergy Friendly Lunchbox Love @ Allergy-Free Vintage Cookery

Allergy Friendly Fridays @ Cybele Pascal – The Allergy-Friendly Cook

11 responses

  1. This could very well be the first recipe of yours I attempt. Been reading since November, but haven’t had the guts yet to try… These look and sound too yummy!

    • Zosia: I’ve never tried either, but if their light flours, I suppose so. If they’re denser, you might have to add some extra liquid (non-dairy milk or water??). The flavor of the banana and peanut butter are strong enough to cover any flavor put off by the flours. Let me know if it works 🙂

      • Thanks for replying so quickly! I’ll give these a try with one of my alternative flours and let you know how it goes!

  2. Pingback: Top 7 Posts of 2012 | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

