Miso & Tahini: Best Flavor Combo Ever!

Somehow I keep forgetting how much I love the flavor of miso. Maybe it’s because I can’t find around here and have to bring it home from an infrequent trip to Whole Foods. Or maybe it’s because I hide the containers way in the back of the fridge so Mr M doesn’t question my buying yet another tub on one of my infrequent trips to Whole Foods 😉 Whatever the reason, I’m always happily surprised when something makes me remember the tubs of tangy goodness chilling in the fridge, begging to be used in thick and creamy dips, dressings and sauces.

I’ve shared before how much I love the Cesar Chavez dressing from Appetite for Reduction, and a couple of weeks ago, I made another awesome miso creation, thanks to a post from Emily at the Daily Garnish. Emily’s  sauce used a combo of miso and tahini to bring together a plate of pasta and veggie goodness. I chose to use wild rice instead of pasta in my dish, doubled the amount of ingredients, and added some lemon juice to brighten the flavors. I stuck to the some veggie combo of mushrooms and spinach, but I also added some organic broccoli I had in the freezer. Totally yummy goodness!

I don’t fee comfortable enough calling my changes a ‘new recipe,’ so please check out Daily Garnish for Emily’s recipe, but don’t be afraid to make it your own! I did, and it was delicious!

 

 

5 responses

  1. I thought you were writing about me in that first paragraph! I always forget I have miso. Can only get it at my “local” WF (2 hours away) and the containers I have are waaaay back in the ‘frige! It’s great stuff, though! Tahini AND miso sounds awesome!!

  2. Pingback: Pan-Seared Tofu with Wilted Greens | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

