Product Review: Mochi

Mochi? What the heck is Mochi? According to the website Grainaissance (which is the brand I tried):

“Mochi is a nutritious bake-and-serve rice snack made from whole grain brown rice. Mochi is all-natural and without additives, preservatives or colorings. It’s also wheat-free and gluten-free.”

How did I know what Mochi was, and why did I buy it? Honestly, I can’t remember. Ha ha!  I remember reading someone’s blog post about eating Mochi, and then I randomly saw it at Whole Foods a few days later. I picked up both the regular and cinnamon raisin flavors and was debating about buying one or both of them when a fellow shopper picked up two packages of the cinnamon raisin. So, being the curious shopper I am, I asked for her opinion. Not only did she give me her opinion on the product, she suggested which flavor to buy, how to cut it, how to cook it, and how to eat it. Score!

According to the website, Mochi can be eaten in a variety of ways, but I went with the standard recipe of cutting the block into squares, baking it according to the directions, and eating the pieces with a little jelly for added sweetness.

Every time I look at these pictures, it makes me laugh. The first thing I thought when I pulled the cookie sheet out of the oven was how much the little squares looked like scallops.  Ha ha ha. I have no idea where I get seafood from brown rice dessert, but the little dough-ball blowouts remind me of scallop “feet.” I watch too much food TV!

I don’t know that I’d buy this product again, but they tasted pretty good. I loved that they were chewy and crispy at the same time, but since I can only find them in limited locations, and it didn’t sound like they could be frozen, I don’t know if they’re the most practical dessert for me.

Have you ever tried Mochi? How do you eat it?

8 responses

  1. Sweet! I randomly found some mochi at a food co-op a couple months ago and decided to try it, despite the fact that I had no clue what it was. I bought the cashew and date kind (this was before I discovered I was allergic to dates) and it was really good. Weird, though. I laughed so hard when I saw it had puffed up so big after baking!

Leave a Reply

