Raw Food Cookbook Love

I’ve been on a bit of a raw food kick lately.

Before I had my gallbladder removed in March, I had a lot of digestive issues  that I thought would go away once that stupid, broken organ was gone. Well, they didn’t. Go figure. Luckily, the weather has changed here, and fresh fruits and veggies are beginning to show up in gardens and farmers’ markets, so trying a high-raw food diet seemed like a great idea to help alleviate some of my tummy troubles. Guess what…it has!

Before I purposely incorporated more raw foods into my diet, I did a lot of research and read a lot of cookbooks. I’m still doing a lot of research and reading a lot of cookbooks 😉 But, I’ve come across some cookbooks (un-cook? anti-cook? no-cook?) that have really been a big help and are loaded with enough delicious recipes to keep me not-cooking for months!

Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make by Amber Shea Crawley

I’ve been a fan of Amber’s for a few years, and I was psyched when she announced she signed a cookbook deal.  But, when Practically Raw hit Amazon, I waited. I wanted an autographed copy, and I got one. Woohoo!

I finally made a few things from Practically Raw last week: Pizza Kale Chips, Raw Bread, and Sour Cream and Onion Kale Chips. The pizza kale chips are ah-ma-zing. Seriously, if you buy this book and only make the pizza kale chips, it’s worth the money. Yes, dear readers, they’re that good! (I even made the pizza ‘sauce’ and used it to make raw buckwheat bread and raw pizza dip for veggies!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Live Raw: Raw Food Recipes for Good Health and Timeless Beauty by Mimi Kirk

Who doesn’t love Mimi? Or, more accurately, who doesn’t want to look like Mimi when you’re her age?? I know I do! Live Raw is full of great, basic raw-food recipes. And, the price is certainly right at just over $10. This book is huge!

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Eating Raw by Mark Reinfeld, Bo Rinaldi, and Jennifer Murray

I love this book. Not only does it contain tons of great recipes, it is super full of newbie info. What’s rejuvac? This book will tell you! It will also tell you how to make it and how to use it to make raw cheese and other dishes. Why do raw food recipes always say to soak nuts and seeds? This book will tell you. And, this book has been around for a while, so you can probably find a good deal on a used copy.

All of Ani Phyo’s books are awesome!

Ani’s Raw Food Essentials: Recipes and Techniques for Mastering the Art of Living Food

Ani’s Raw Food Asia: Easy East-West Fusion Recipes the Raw Food Way

Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen: Easy, Delectable Living Foods Recipes

Ani has two other books I haven’t checked out yet: Ani’s Raw Food Desserts: 85 Easy, Delectable Sweets and Treats and Ani’s 15-Day Fat Blast: The Kick-Ass Plan to get Lighter, Tighter, and Sexier…Super Fast

I checked out a little raw dessert book from the college library a month or so ago, and I can’t wait to get my hands on my own copy! Pure Pleasures Cupcake Heaven: Raw Food Sweets that Make your Heart Skip a Beat by Natalia KW. Natalia uses coconut flour and apples to create the most delicious raw cupcakes. Yum! There is a downside, though. The recipes make a lot of cupcakes – at least a dozen regular size or 30 minis. That’s too many cupcakes for me…because I’ll eat them all – ha! I haven’t tried cutting the recipes in half yet, but I’ll keep you posted when I do. I hope it works! (Some baked dessert recipes don’t work that way, but most raw food recipes do because they don’t need leavening ingredients or rely on complicated chemical reactions to create the final product.)

Natalia has another cook book, Pure Pleasures: Luscious Live Food Recipes from the Glowing Temple Kitchen, that I’m also interested in. I read a review of this book last week, which put Pure Pleasures at the top of my must-buy cookbook list!

Finally, Alive in 5: Raw Gourmet Meals in Five Minutes by Angela L. Elliott is an awesome little raw-food cookbook a friend just loaned me to review. At first glance, I didn’t think this little gem had much to offer, but I was wrong. I can’t wait to order my own copy!

I’ve added quite a few other raw-food cookbooks to my bookshelf lately, too.

Raw Food: A Complete Guide for Every Meal of the Day by Erica Palmcrantz Aziz and Irmela Lilja

Everyday Raw Express: Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less by Matthew Kenney

Raw Food Made Easy For 1 or 2 People by Jennifer Cornbleet

Becoming Raw: The Essential Guide to Raw Vegan Diets by Brenda Davis, Vesanto Melina and Rynn Berry (I’ve had this one for a while.)

Raw Food/Real World: 100 Recipes to Get the Glow by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis

Living Raw Food: Get the Glow with More Recipes from Pure Food and Wine by Sarma Melngailis

Raw for Dessert: Easy Delights for Everyone by Jennifer Cornbleet

I’ve reviewed a lot more than I’ve listed, and there are a few more I want to check out. Obviously, there are tons of resources for raw food newbies. I’ll do a website/Your Tube channel follow-up later 🙂

10 responses

  1. I feel so much better when I eat a higher-raw diet, but for some reason I never stick with it. This Colorado heat wave may be just the motivation I need to stick with it, tho!

  2. Holy cookbooks! I can’t wait to see what you come up with with all that fabulous inspiration!

    I’ve added a couple exclusively raw cookbooks to my library recently too. Practically Raw and Rawsomely Vegan awesome! Check out Rawsomely Vegan if you haven’t!

    I feel better high raw too- plus I love food adventures and raw is so new to me, I am loving it!

  3. I have a friend who had her gallbladder removed recently and she too has had tummy troubles. I am definitely recommending your blog to her. Thanks!

  4. I love eating raw but my husband doesn’t! He is a meat eater, you know! I love creating new raw recipes but with these guided cookery boks, it must be so much easier!

    • Sophie: I’m the only one who eats vegan, let along raw vegan, at my house too. And the hubs keeps threatening to make jerky in my dehydrator 😉 He’s kidding! I think…

      You’re right, though, having the cookbooks handy sure does help when you’re new to something. I already branched out on my own with some raw buckwheat blueberry bagels. I’ll be sharing the recipe very soon!

Leave a Reply

