Raw Buckwheat Ciabatta Bread

During my first buckwheat experiment, I also made a raw buckwheat ciabatta bread that turned out pretty good.

I used the pizza mixture from the Pizza Kale Chips recipe in Practically Raw by Amber Shea Crawley (love this book!), added it to a couple cups of blended, sprouted buckwheat, and spread it out on a paraflex sheet to about 1/4 inch thick. Then, I dehydrated the bread at 115F-ish for a couple of hours, removed it, flipped it over onto the mesh screen, pressed in some sliced red onion (I cut the onion into very thin slices) and sliced green olives, and returned to the dehydrator for another 4-6 hours – or until soft but dry.

This was definitely a hit. I can’t wait to try it with the soaked but not sprouted buckwheat!

Side note: I’ve tried a dozen or so of the recipes (lots more to try!) from Practically Raw, and they’ve all been delicious. I’ve made the Pizza Kale Chips three times, the Sour Cream and Onion kale chips twice (I tweaked the recipe a bit), the Nut and Seed bread twice, and I’m going to be making the Raw Rice Pilaf again this weekend. (Review and re-purpose of that recipe coming soon!) Seriously, if you are looking for a new (or a first) raw cookbook, check this one out. Why? Well, aside from the tasty tidbits it contains (yes, I meant that to be  alliterate), Amber offers cooked options for all of the recipe, and she offers suggestions for ingredient substitutions.  I love that! (In case you haven’t noticed, I like to offer suggestions/substitutions, too, and I can’t stand cookbook authors/bloggers who insist substitutions can’t be made to their recipes. Ummmm…yaaaa…they can. Trust me.) 

7 responses

  1. You raw bread looks awesome!

    I love Practically Raw too- the Pizza Kale Chips are sooo amazing aren’t they? I love the substitutions too- especially since sometimes the ingredients that get used in raw recipes can be expensive- it’s nice to have options that you already have around that won’t break the bank 🙂

  2. I love this idea! And with the olives on top, YUM. Looks like the perfect salty snack!

    So happy you’re enjoying the book! Please feel free to leave a 5-star review on Amazon if you have a few min to spare 😉 You could even just copy and paste that last paragraph above!

Leave a Reply

