It’s here! It’s here! Vegan MoFo 2012!

It’s finally here; Vegan MoFo 2012 is underway, and I’m ecstatic that you’re here to share the experience with me.

“What the heck is Vegan MOFO?,” you may be wondering. Well, it’s an awesome, month-long celebration of vegan food and the bloggers who bring it to life. (Get it…vegan MOnth of FOod.)

I participated in MoFo last year and was introduced to so many wonderful new blogger friends! My goal this year is to visit every single blog that’s participating. At least once. Or twice ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ll be posting to my blog as much as possible throughout the month. I’ve been saving some rawesome recipes just for this occasion because…my theme for MoFo is “RAWctober. A Month of Raw, Vegan Treats!”

Instead of starting the month with a recipe (don’t worry, Coconut Goji Balls are coming your way!), I thought I’d start by sharing where I am at in vegan adventure.

I changed my vegetarian diet to a vegan diet void of all animal products in May of 2010 after 10 years of avoiding meat and eating a predominate veggie junk food diet. Yes, I was a vegetarian who rarely ate veggies. (Shame. Shame on me!) Fast forward two and a half years, and I’m nearly 65 pounds lighter, feel great most of the time (Who doesn’t over-do it occasionally?), and my diet has evolved from relying heavily on vegan substitute and convenience foods to one that is predominate raw (about 80% most weeks).

Why is the majority of my diet now raw? Well, I can give you the same answer for, “Why did you become a vegetarian?,” and, “Why did you become a vegan?” Because I wanted to. I eat a predominate raw diet because I want to. I remember seeing a segment on raw vegansim and the then labeled fruitarian movement while I was in college, and I knew, someday, that was something I wanted in my life. And it suits me.

I love cooking, but it hasn’t always been that way.ย  I didn’t find a love for making my own food until about two years ago – shortly before I started this blog ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I’ve always been more of an assembler than a cook. (Unless baking is cooking, then I’ve always been a cook – ha!) Raw cooking, or uncooking, allows me endless indulgence in my love of assembling food. Plus, my old standby of eating mono-meals is encouraged (eating one food until full). I didn’t even know that was a ‘thing’ until earlier this year, and I’d been doing it out of laziness for years!

So, here we are. My diet consists mostly of fruits and veggies, nuts and seeds. I do occasionally consume grains, but not very often. I’m much more apt to consume beans, especially soy beans in the form of sprouted tofu (organic and non-GMO only!), miso or tamari, than grains, and it’s even less likely for me to consume a glutenous grain. Why? I feel better. Grains make me feel bloated and retain water, which is evident on the scale. (I wouldn’t believe it either if I didn’t see it for myself every. single. time. I consume grains.) They also make me crave them more – and other things like sugar and salt.

I’m still on the salt band-wagon, but my intake has decreased dramatically. My sweeteners of choice are maple syrup (from a local source about 10 miles from our house – love that!) or dates/date paste. Unfortunately, maple syrup isn’t raw, but it’s close enough for me, especially since it’s harvested so close where I live. I don’t consume much oil, but when I do, it’s either toasted sesame oil (not raw but full of flavor!), first pressing/cold-pressed, organic EVOO (I found a brand I can’t live without!), or virgin, organic coconut oil. I use both refined and unrefined coconut oil because I find the flavor of the coconut comes through in the unrefined a little too much for some ways I use it.

This month, you can look forward to a variety of raw (or almost raw) vegan goodies. Whenever possible, I will post nut/seed free options, as well low/lower fat options if possible (denoted at 80-10-10 approved).

I can’t wait to spend MoFo with you – and the rest of the months, too ๐Ÿ˜‰ Please, please, please feel free to email me (veggievblog at gmail dot com), leave a comment (I try to reply to everyone!), like my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter, and follow my boards on Pinterest.

Happy MOFO, everyone!

 

15 responses

Leave a Reply

