Pumpkin Chia Oatmeal

I couldn’t take it any long; I broke down and opened a can of pumpkin. And then I opened another. And all the while, the tiny pie pumpkin I bought a couple of weeks ago sat atop the shelf, staring at me. Don’t worry little pumpkin; your days are numbered!

Pumpkin Chia Oatmeal

2 TBSP chia seeds

1/4 c oat groats, coarsely ground (or rolled or steel cut oats)

1/2 c pumpkin puree (canned or raw)

2 TBSP maple syrup (or your favorite liquid sweetener or stevia)

1/2 c (or more) almond milk (I make my own)

1/2 – 1 tsp vanilla extract (I use alcohol free)

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Combine everything and let it sit for a few minutes so the chia seeds can gel and thicken the oatmeal. Eat cold, room temperature, or warm. (I eat mine cold like cereal.)

To keep the recipe completely raw, use soaked then dehydrated oat groats (like I did), date paste for sweetener (or raw agave or honey if that works for your diet) or chunks of other dried fruit (raisins, craisins, dried cherries, etc), raw pumpkin puree, and homemade almond milk (to ensure it’s raw).

If you’re OK with a higher fat dish, try swirling in some almond butter, coconut butter, or coconut oil. All three would make your oats even creamier!

Sharing the love…Raw Food Thursdays, Healthy Vegan Fridays, Wellness Weekends

 

11 responses

  1. I love oatmeal and chia as my pre run fuel. I never thought to eat it cold…what an awesome idea. Talk to me about oat groats?! Are they similar to oat bran? Where do I find them? Will steel cut oats get as soft?

    • Luv: Oat groats are the whole, unprocessed oat. You want hulled groats. I think most of what is sold in stores is hulled. You can tell if they’re raw (and hull-less) by trying to sprout a few. (That’s what I did to test mine.) I’ve been buying mine at Whole Foods in the bulk bin. Like other oats, they’re super cheap.

      Hulled/raw oat groats still contain the bran and the germ because they are minimally processed. Steel cut oats are also oat groats, but they’ve been cut into pieces. Traditional steel cut (or Irish) oats are typically also raw unless they state instant, which has been precooked/steamed/pre-soaked/etc. My guess is that steel cut oats won’t sprout, however.

      If you choose to use steel cut oats, I’d break them up in the food processor (or Magic Bullet type mini-blender or even a coffee grinder). They will soften up. The whole groats are pretty hard and crunchy after having been soaked and dehydrated.

      Remember, if you’re gluten sensitive, oats tend to be highly cross-contaminated, so look for certified gluten free products. Due to the lack of processing (or the very minimal processing during the cutting process in the case of the steel cut oats), whole groats may be less cross-contaminated; use your best judgement 🙂

  2. Pingback: 4 Weeks to PR « Luv What You Do

Leave a Reply

