Virtual Vegan Potluck: Raw Pumpkin Custard

Guess what…it’s Virtual Vegan Potluck time again! And, surprise, surprise, I’m bringing dessert. Again ๐Ÿ˜‰

Raw Pumpkin Custard

2 c raw pumpkin

1 c young coconut meat

1/4 c coconut water (fresh)

1 c dates (your favorite variety)

1 t vanilla

1 TBSP (heaping) chia seeds, ground into meal

1-2 t pumpkin pie spice

Peel, seed, and chop pumpkin into small pieces. Blend well in high-powered blender. (The Vitamix does a decent job, but you have to use the tamper.) Add dates and continue to blend. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. Store custard in refrigerator. Allow a few hours to set/firm before serving. Serving suggestions: top serving with coconut cream (canned, full-fat coconut milk, cream scraped off top and whipped with a bit of sweetener and/or vanilla).

Cutting up the pumpkin was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I did end up peeling it with a knife, though. The peeler technique was too difficult. I think my peeler is dull. Maybe it’s time for a new one ๐Ÿ™‚

The ingredients blended up really well. Mmmm…custardy.

I even managed to save the pumpkin seeds! I’ve never been able to save the seeds from a pumpkin. Then again, I’ve never used a small, pie pumpkin. I don’t know if “pie” pumpkins are the same as “sugar” pumpkins, but pie pumpkins are all I can find around here. At least they’re cheap!

This is the first time I used a young coconut! I bought this one at my local Kroger. I couldn’t believe it when I saw them nestled among the mushrooms and ginger. At $2.99, they’re a little spendy, but I splurged ๐Ÿ™‚ And, after watching only two videos, Mr M and I were able to open the little fighter.

I had some custard left that didn’t fit in the container, so I added the rest of the coconut water and some protein powder and made a pumpkin pie smoothie out of it. It gave me a great excuse to use my new glass birthday straw!

Options: This custard would be great as a pumpkin pie. You could put it in a nut crust (almonds, walnuts or pecans processed with dates, raisins or prunes pressed into a pie pan), or fold in some cashew cream for a a quick cheesecake. Additionally, this freezes really well and could be made into pumpkin ice cream. You could even add it to chia or grain porridgeย  for a super delicious breakfast. Enjoy!

42 responses

  1. Pingback: Virtual Vegan Potluck: Arroz sin leche « Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

  2. Pingback: A Veggie V Thanksgiving | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

  3. Pingback: Virtual Vegan Potluck #3 | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

