Juice Fast Fail

I’ve been wanting to do a juice fast forever. Seriously. As long as I can remember, I’ve been wanting to give this a try. So, with a long weekend ahead of me, I planned to begin juicing on Saturday and continue through Sunday. But, we’ve been car shopping, and our Friday adventures led us to Whole Foods, which led me to a fridge full of left-overs that had to be eaten on Saturday, so juicing got pushed back to Sunday. OK. No problem.

Sunday began with a warm, sunny morning – perfect for the orange and cranberry juice I had planned. After a heavy weights workout, I got my juice on.

This juice was 5 pounds of juicing oranges and 1 pound of cranberries. It made about 50 ounces of juice, which I drank throughout the morning.

After breakfast (and second breakfast) and some computer work, Mr M and I took a walk to and through our local park. It was a beautiful day for a couple mile walk. Except…Mr M and I walk at two completely different paces! Everyone I know, except for my husband, complains about how slow I walk. Literally everyone. In sixth grade, my nickname was Turtle. Seriously. But, Mr M walks even slower than I do! I didn’t know this was even possible. After arguing about walking speed for the fist mile, I finally grabbed his hand and drug him around the first half of the second mile. I wonder what the other walkers thought – ha ha!

After a brisk walk (Well, my walk was brisk.), I juiced my lunch.

This time, I juiced six or so stalks of kale (stems and leaves) that I cut from our dwindling garden (Side note: It took all summer to grow the kale. Is that normal?!), 2 cucumbers, 4 ribs of celery, 5 small, green apples, and two lemons (peeled). It was really good!

This batch also made around 50 or so ounces, which I drank in two batches.

After lunch, we ran some errands, which included going to the grocery store. I wasn’t the least bit tempted by anything at the grocery store, but I kept finding good deals and thinking of meals I wanted to make later in the week, and before I knew it, I was home making a giant arugula salad with tons of celery, pumpkin seeds, and hemp hearts. Mmmmm…hemp seeds.

So, I failed. Kind of. My plan was to juice for three days, and I made it through two meals. But, I did figure out my body is happier with some veggies mixed in with the fruits; it’s keeps my blood sugar steadier. I also figured out it’s best for me to get out of the house when I’m juicing. I thought it would be the opposite. Being busy and not surrounded by solid food is a good way to keep my mind off dinner. And snacks. And lunch. And breakfast. And snacks. I really like snacks.

I definitely plan to incorporate more juice into my diet – replacing some of the smoothies with green juice. Typically, I have a smoothie for breakfast and lunch, a fruit snack or two in between, and a giant salad for dinner. I’ve been very happy with that menu, but I think I’d be equally happy with a breakfast smoothie, green juice lunch, and giant salad dinner. And, in a few weeks when I’m on winter break, I’ll try another juice fast. But, I’d like to do a little more research first (I’ve just started researching juice recipes and protocol.), and I think I want to take it one day at a time. I might even do a “lite” fast for a few days  — juice for breakfast and lunch and light food (probably salad) for dinner.

I’d love to hear your experience with juicing!

10 responses

  1. I also tried a juice fast. I was really miserable… I realised that I like food! Since then, I have also decided to rather introduce more juices and smoothies in my diet, but the base of my diet is rather green salads and fruit salads… that makes me happy.

  2. Hi V,

    I stumbled across your blog and after reading your Juice fast fail, I felt compelled to reply. I recently just completed a 7 day juice fast, my very first one, in fact; its the first time in my life that I have ever fasted. There are a couple of tricks to a successful juice fast:
    1. Any juice you make has to be 60/40 or 70/30 split: Veggies/Fruit – as you found out, pure (fresh) fruit juice is OTT for the body, especially in the amounts you were consuming.
    2. Don’t try to experiment with juice recipes during a fast. My juices for the 7 days were pretty much the same ingredients, i maybe substituted a pear for an apple, or an orange for some strawberries etc. Make sure the juice is well balanced, and if you add beets, make sure you skip a day before you add them into your next juice.
    3. Drink plenty of water between juices. this will not only help the hunger pangs, but will ensure that your body is flushing out any unwanted toxins effectively. Remember the main point of a juice fast is to detox the body although being vegan, you shouldn’t have that many toxins 🙂

    I only juiced once a day and made about 80oz juice. I found that 4 X 20oz glasses, Breakfast (9am), Lunch (1.30pm) Dinner (6.30pm) and Supper (10pm) was sufficient for me. However there is no rule against drinking more or less juice, just do whatever helps you function best throughout the day.

    I hope these tips help and wish you luck on your next juice fast. I’m planning on doing another 7 day fast starting on Jan 1st.

Leave a Reply

