Sweet Potato & Lentil Burgers

I haven’t made a new veggie burger in quite a while. I actually haven’t eaten a veggie burger in quite a while. But, since it was Christmas, I thought I’d splurge a little. And, since I was able to make my burgers with three ingredients (and two were left-overs), they were super easy to make. Bonus!

Sweet Potato & Lentil Burgers

1 lg sweet potato, baked and mashed (about 1 cup mashed)

1 c cooked lentils (I used brown)

3/4 c cooked greens (I used a mix of spinach and chard)

Combine everything in a bowl until well-mixed. Add whatever seasonings you like. (I added salt and cumin.) Divide mixture into four equal parts, spake into balls, and flatten onto non-stick baking pan (or line baking pan with parchment paper or spray baking pan). Bake at 325F for about an hour or until burgers are dryer and firm. Let sit on baking tray a few minutes then remove to cool before eating.

Each of my burgers came in at just over 100 calories.

Notes:

Moisture: If your burgers are too moist, add more lentils. My burgers were kind of moist because my greens were kind of wet.

Greens: I used a mix of left-over sauteed spinach and Swiss chard. They were wilted with onion and garlic and a splash of apple cider vinegar and tamari.

Lentils: Use whatever lentils you like. I thought I had some French lentils in the pantry, but all I could find were brown; they worked fine. I probably wouldn’t use red because they breakdown so easily.

Potato: I baked a sweet potato in it’s skill until it was soft and mushy, so  I didn’t have to puree it.

Seasonings: Use whatever seasonings you like. I think curry powder might be nice.

Cooking: I chose to bake my burgers because I wanted to dry them out a bit. If you don’t want to wait an hour for them to dry and firm up, I’m sure they’ll cook up nicely in a pan.

lentils

greens

ready for patties

out of the oven

close up

 

Sharing the love at Healthy Vegan Fridays and Wellness Weekends

15 responses

  1. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  2. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Ricki Heller

  3. Pingback: The 3-Ingredient Veggie Burger (Aka the Easiest You’ll Ever Make) | Healthy Vegas Vegan

  4. Pingback: The 3-Ingredient Veggie Burger (Aka the Easiest You’ll Ever Make)

Leave a Reply

