Spring Into Healthier Eating: Crazy About Kale Book Review

Are you crazy about kale? I am! And so is blogger and cookbook author Hallie Klecker from Daily Bites. Hallie’s newest creating, Crazy About Kale, is a super affordable ebook that highlights 40 gluten-free, dairy-free kale recipes, including smoothies and juices, salads, side dishes, main dishes, and snacks and sweet treats. And while not all of the recipes are vegan, most are, and the ones that are not, are easily veganized. You should definitely check this out!

KaleCover-lowjpg

After picking up some red Russian kale a couple of weeks ago, I couldn’t wait to dig into this book and whip up some tasty new dishes. Red Russian kale is new to me; although we grew some last summer, it didn’t quite grow enough to eat. I wasn’t sure how I’d like it, but after ready Hallie’s review of each of the different varieties of kale (curly, lacinato, and red Russian), and spying some yummy recipes featuring my new find (Although, as Hallie pointed out, the varieties are interchangeable and are really a matter of preference.), I was ready to get creative in the kitchen.

The New Fashioned Potato Salad was super yum (I didn’t include the raisins or currents because sweet and savor together doesn’t do it for me.); the Spanish Style Braised Kale is beckoning to be made, and I can’t wait to whip up a batch of Kale in Almond Cream Sauce. And, the next time I break out the juicer, the Lean & Green Lemonade is at the top of my to-make list!

There are lots more recipes I can’t wait to dig into in Crazy About Kale, and if all of the kale plants we have started actually grow this year, I’ll be able to eat my way through this cookbook 4 our 5 times this summer 😀 I can’t wait!

Disclosure: Hallie provided a copy of Crazy About Kale for my review, but the opinions expressed are all mine 😉

 

Leave a Reply

