Recipe Review: Strawberry Shortcake

It’s strawberry season here in Ohio – heck, it’s strawberry season just about everywhere in the US – and I’ve been eating more than my share of red, ripe berries lately. But, there are only so many naked berries a girl can throw down, and last night, I couldn’t get the thought of strawberry shortcake out of my head. So…a little Google’ing later, and I found this grain-free, vegan strawberry shortcake recipe from Healthful Pursuit. (Note: Not all of Leanne’s recipes are vegan. In fact, many are not, but she does have quite a few plant-based recipes posted, and those that are not can usually be easily modified.)

photo(467)

I decided I had to make these shortcakes around 8 pm, and by 830, I was eating a giant plate of berries on top of a fresh-from-the-oven shortcake. Yum!

photo(468)

As with any recipe, I have to put my own spin on things 😉 For this recipe, I omitted the cinnamon and added a splash of vanilla extract instead. I also used coconut oil instead of Earth Balance because that’s what I had on hand. The shortcakes didn’t rise much, but that could have been my old baking powder – or the coconut oil. Regardless, I didn’t mind my more cookie-like shortcakes. The taste was great, and I loved that the recipe is grain free.

photo(470)

My recipe made four very large shortcake cookies. I ate one and put the other three in the freezer. Ok. I ate one with strawberries, then ate half of one on it’s own, then put the remaining two and half shortbread cookies in the freezer 😉 Strawberry season will be with us for a couple more weeks; those remaining shortbreads won’t go to waste! (Although, they might go to my waist. Sigh)

photo(471)

Recipe alteration ideas: This recipe doesn’t make a very sweet shortbread cookie. It’s not supposed to. The berries and additional topping more than make up for the lack of sweetness in the cookie. But, I couldn’t help thinking these would be great a little sweeter – as more of a true cookie than a shortbread cake. So, I think the next time I make these (Yes; there will be a next time!), I’ll go ahead and add the cinnamon and a little more coconut sugar, then roll the dough into balls and roll the balls into a cinnamon sugar mixture ala snickerdoodles. Or, add a little more sugar and the cinnamon to the batter, then top the unbaked cookies with coconut sugar before baking for a more traditional sugar cookie. These would also be great frosted or as cookies in a cream or ice cream filled cookie sandwich. Yum!

Keep up with me, Veggie V, between posts by following me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram.

Join our Raw Fusion Rest group on Facebook for this month’s challenge – lowering the fat in your high-raw, vegan diet.

 

Leave a Reply

