Book Review: Jacked on the Beanstalk

Over the past few months, I’ve become more interested in athletic conditioning/bodybuilding and the “proper” vegan diet for hard core athletes. And although I’m finding there is no perfect or proper diet (but there are endless arguments about it), I thought I’d continue with the theme of my last post and asked Samantha Shorkey of Jacked on the Beanstalk and The Vegan Project for a chance to review her latest eBook, Jacked on the Beanstalk: Plant Based Fuel for Vegan Athletes. Samantha is a vegan athlete and bodybuilder/bikini competitor. She knows vegans can rock the stage and has the first place victories to prove it.

Here’s a blurb about the book (in Samantha’s words):

ABOUT THIS BOOK

Welcome to the very first “Jacked on the Beanstalk” recipe e-book for vegan athletes!  It’s pretty cool that
more and more vegans are competing and excelling in professional sports—proving just how fit and
JACKED we plant-eaters can be!

For those who don’t know me, I’m just a regular ol’ vegan girl who recently won first place in my first-ever
bodybuilding competition (bikini division) in British Columbia, Canada.  I demonstrated that you don’t have
to eat meat, eggs or any animal product to build lean muscle.

I’m very excited to share this recipe e-book that The Vegan Project and I had such a blast working on.  
Jacked on the Beanstalk is not necessarily geared toward vegan bodybuilders or bikini competitors but
rather anyone looking to lose weight, gain muscle and fuel intense training sessions on a whole food, plant-based diet.

Jacked on the Beanstalk offers readers clean and simple meals that can be made in big batches to keep even the busiest vegan athlete on track all week. Starting off right with a list of the top 10 foods for vegan athletes (hellllloooo oats!) and ending with a sample, a glimpse at a hearty, vegan athlete meal plan, this handy little eBook offered recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner: everything from protein pancakes to tofu mushroom stir fry – two of my personal favs! Oh, and did I mention the desserts? What? You thought vegan athletes didn’t eat dessert? Well, my friends, you thought wrong. How about black bean brownies, raw fruit pie or carrot cake balls? Sounds good to me!

If you’re interested in boosting your athletic performance through your vegan diet, check out Jacked On the Beanstalk. It’s worth the minimal investment (about $12 US).

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Vegan Cooking at Home | Veggie V's Vegan Adventure

Leave a Reply

